Education

Menu Education

STI – Definition

Saturday, February 1st, 2014




Also called sexually transmitted infections or venereal diseases, these are infection which can be transmitted by sexual intercourse. Bacteria, Viruses, fungi and protozoa can cause these infections. What are the most frequent sexually transmitted diseases (STD) ?   Chlamydial Infections Genital Herpes Genital warts (Condlyloma Accuminata) Gonorrhea HIV Infection/AIDS Non specific Urehtiritis (Non Gonoccacal Urethritis) […]

STI – mode of transmission

Saturday, February 1st, 2014




How does one catch a sexually transmitted infection (STI)? Sexual intercourse with an individual having a STI. Transmission of body fluids (sperm, vaginal or cervical secretions): Gonorrhoea (Gonorrhea) Hepatitis B HIV (Virus of AIDS) Non Specific (Non Gonoccocal) Urethritis Close contact with an individual having a STI: Condyloma Accuminata (Genital warts) Genital Herpes Pediculosis Pubis […]

STI – Clinical Features

Saturday, February 1st, 2014




The prinicpal symptoms are local itching and pain when urinating (dysuria). The following signs can be present: blistering on the genital organs genital discharge genital erosions or ulcers (painful or not) growths in the genital areas lymph node swelling rashes in the genital areas and on the rest of the body Sometimes, the infection can […]

STI – Practical Recommendations

Saturday, February 1st, 2014




What is the most important practical recommendations ? Value a stable partner and/or use a condom during each sexual intercourse. What must I do if I think I have caught a sexually transmitted infection (STI) ? See a doctor (physician) immediately and avoid sexual intercourse until instructed to do otherwise. Do not self-medicate. When must […]

STI – Confirmation of Diagnosis and Treatment

Saturday, February 1st, 2014




How is a Sexually transmitted infection (STI) diagnosed ? Blood and urine samples enable to detect common STIs (Chlamydial infections, HIV, Gonorrhoea (Gonorrhea), Syphilis). However, local sampling on the skin and mucous membranes and of discharge fluides according to the guidance of the doctor (physician) will confirm the diagnosis. Can all STIs be cured ? […]

Common Hair Balding in men and women (androgenetic alopecia or androgenic alopecia)

Sunday, December 1st, 2013




What is common hair balding ? It is the most common form of hair loss in both men and women. In men it is characterized with a hair loss extending backwards as well as thinning of hair in the vertex (classification according to Hamilton). In women, the hair loss is more diffuse and more located […]

What does a dermatologist do ?

Friday, March 29th, 2013




A dermatologist is qualified in the diagnosis, treatment and management (referral to other specialists if needed) of the following disorders: Acne, Actinic Keratosis, Alopecia Areata, Athlete’s Foot, Atopic Dermatitis Bed Bugs, Blepharoplasty (surgery of the eyelids), Boils, Bruises, Bug Bites and Stings Corns, Cysts Diaper Rash, Dry Skin Eczema, Erythema Nodosum Folliculitis, Freckles, Frostbite, Fungal […]

Preventing and Treating melasma (chloasma, pregnancy mask): Basics of Sunprotection, Practical Advice and Quick Fixes

Monday, September 3rd, 2012




Melasma (chloasma, pregnancy mask) is notoriously difficult to treat and relapses are the norm in those responding to treatment Sunprotection must be against visible light and not only UV light. We cannot stress the importance of using sunprotection by: adopting sun avoiding behaviour avoid going in the sun between 10 am and 4pm (11am and […]

Protected: Education – Table of Contents

Saturday, March 31st, 2012

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.

How to choose before undergoing an esthetic (Aesthetic) (Cosmetic) treatment: the esthetic clinic boom !

Thursday, August 5th, 2010




Esthetic (Aesthetic) clinics are trendy and the offer in esthetic treatments has all but exploded: lasers, plastic surgery and even non surgical treatments. As diverse as wine, good ones and less good ones are available, to not say more. On a global scale, new esthetic clinics have opened their doors. Existing clinics have expanded. How […]

image description

Education

Menu Education

MST – Définition

samedi, février 1st, 2014




Aussi dénomées infections sexuellement transmissibles ou maladies vénériennes, il s’agit d’infections pouvant transmises lors de rapports sexuels. Bactéries, virus, champignons et protozoaires peuvent provoquer ces infections. Quelles sont les maladies sexuellement transmissibles (MST) les plus fréquentes ? Condylomes (Verrues Génitales) Gonorrhée (Blénnoragie) Herpès Génital Infections à Chlamydia Infection par le VIH/SIDA Uréthrite non-spécifique (non gonococcique) […]

MST – mode de transmission

samedi, février 1st, 2014




Comment attrape t-on une maladie sexuellement transmissible (MST) ? Rapport sexuel avec une personne ayant une MST. Transfert de fluides corporels (sperme, sécrétions vaginales ou du col): Gonorrhée (Blénnoragie) (Chaude Pisse) Hépatite B HIV (Virus du SIDA) Uréthrite non-spécifique Contact corporel intime avec une personne ayant une MST: Condylomes (Verrues Génitales) Gale Herpès Génital Poux […]

MST – caractéristiques cliniques

samedi, février 1st, 2014




Le symptômes principaux sont les démangeaisons localement et la présence de douleurs en urinant (dysurie). Les signes suivants peuvent se manifester: cloques sur les organes génitaux écoulement génital érosions ou ulcères génitaux (douloureux ou non) éruptions cutanées dans les régions génitales et sur le reste du corps excroissances dans les régions génitales tuméfaction des ganglions […]

MST – recommandations pratiques

samedi, février 1st, 2014




Quelle est la recommandation pratique la plus importante ? Privilégiez un partenaire stable et/ou utilisez un préservatif à chaque rapport sexuel. Que faire si je pense avoir attrapé une maladie sexuellement transmissible ? Consultez un médecin immédiatement et renoncez à tout rapport sexuel jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Ne vous traitez-pas vous même. Après combien de temps […]

MST – confirmation du diagnostic et traitement

samedi, février 1st, 2014




Comment diagnostiquer une maladie sexuellement transmissible (MST) ? Des examens du sang et des urines permettent de détecter des MST (HIV, Gonorhée, Syphilis, Chalaymdia). Toutefois, des prélèvements locaux sur le peau et les muqueuses ainsi que d’écoulements en fonction de l’avis du médecin permettront de confirmer le diagnostic. Peut-on guérir de toutes les MST ? […]

Perte de cheveux (Calvitie) chez l’homme et chez la femme

dimanche, décembre 1st, 2013




La Calvitie (alopécie androgénique ou androgénétique) – c’est quoi ? Il s’agit de la perte de cheveux  la plus commune chez l’homme et chez la femme. Chez l’homme, la calvitie se caractérise par une perte de cheveux vers l’arrière avec un amincissement des cheveux sur le vertex (en tonsure) (classification selon Hamilton). Chez la femme, […]

Que fait le dermatologue ?

vendredi, mars 29th, 2013




Le dermatologue est qualifié dans le diagnostic, le traitement et la prise en charge (en collaborant avec d’autres médecins si nécessaire) des problèmes cutanés suivants: Abcès, Acné Cancer de la peau, Chloasma (Mélasma, Masque de grossesse), Chute des cheveux, Cicatrices (acné, chéloïdes), Cors au pied, Coup de soleil (érythème solaire) Démangéaisons (Prurit), Dermatite atopique, Dermatologie […]

Prévenir et traiter le mélasma (chloasma, masque de grossesse): bases de la protection contre le soleil, conseils pratiques et traitements « rapides et efficaces »

lundi, septembre 3rd, 2012




Le mélasma (chloasma, masque de grossesse) est particulièrement difficile à traiter et les recidives sont la norme pour ceux qui répondent favorablement au traitement La protection solaire doit se faire contre la lumière visible et pas seulement contre les UV Nous devons souligner l’importance de se proteger du soleil en: adoptant un comprotement « d’éviter d’aller […]

Protégé : Education – Table des matières

samedi, mars 31st, 2012

Il n’y pas d’extrait, car cet article est protégé.

Comment choisir avant de faire un traitement à visée esthétique: le boom des cliniques esthétiques !

jeudi, août 5th, 2010




Les cliniques esthétiques sont à la mode et l’offre des traitements esthétiques a explosé: lasers, chirurgie esthétique, traitements même non chirurgicaux. Comme les vins, il y en a des bons, des moins bons pour de pas dire autrechose. En Suisse, comme dans le monde des cliniques esthétiques nouvelles apparaissent. D’autres existantes sont en pleine expansion. […]

image description