Treatments used in Dermatology

Menu Treatments used in Dermatology

Photodynamic Therapy (PDT)

Sunday, March 3rd, 2013




What is photodynamic therapy (PDT) ? It is a technique which consists of producing activated oxygen by using a photsensitizing substance combined with a source of light. How does it work ? Applying a cream (containing aminolevulinic acid) enables it to combine with porphyrins. The latter then become activated thus susceptible to light. Their reaction […]

Treatment of Skin Cancer with MOHS Micrographic Surgery

Wednesday, October 19th, 2011




Treatment of Skin Cancer with MOHS Micrographic Surgery Your doctor might have recommended micrographic surgery to take away your skin cancer. This page will try to explain the important things related to this surgery as well as the risks and benefits. What is MOHS (Micrographic) Surgery ? Named after the surgeon who developed this technique, […]

Tetracyclines

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Your doctor has prescribed a tetracycline for you: common tetracyclline include: Tetracycline Minocycline Doxycyline What are tetracyclines used for? Tetracyclines are used to treat infections. They are also used for the treatment of acne by suppressing the growth of the acne bacteria and decreasing the inflammation caused by the bacteria. How should I take tetracyclines? […]

Sunscreens

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What are sunscreens used for? Excessive exposure to the ultraviolet, visible and infra-red radiation of the sun can cause sunburn, premature aging and wrinkling, brown pigmentation, hypersensitivity reactions to sunlight and skin cancer. Although your skin has its own natural defence mechanism, it’s not enough to prevent the […]

Oral Steroids

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Oral Steroids Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Your doctor has just prescribed an oral steroid for you. What are steroids used for? Steroids are similar to the natural hormones produced in the body and are often used to supplement them to help your body fight against certain illness. They are used to relieve […]

Potassium permanganate

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Potassium Permanganate is a skin disinfectant and cleansing agent. It is used for soothing eczema (skin rash) and for drying wet wounds. Dissolve a few crystals in a container of water. Dilute it to a light purple colour solution. Then use this solution as follows: Bath: Fill a […]

Oral psoralen (methoxsalen)

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Your doctor has prescribed methoxsalen for you. It is also known as meladinine. What is methoxsalen used for? Methoxsalen belongs to a group of medicines called psoralens. Methoxsalen increases your skin’s sensitivity to high intensity long wave ultraviolet light (UVA). It is used together with ultraviolet light in a treatment called PUVA to treat psoriasis […]

Topical psoralen (methoxsalen) (valid on areas close to the equator only)

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Your doctor has just prescribed a topical methoxsalen paint for you. It is also called meladinine. What is topical methoxsalen used for? Methoxsalen belongs to a group of medicines called psoralens. Topical methoxsalen is used on the skin to treat vitiligo or other skin problems as determined by your doctor. It increases the sensitivity of […]

Methotrexate

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Your doctor has just prescribed methotrexate for you. What is methotrexate used for? Methotrexate is a medicine used to treat psoriasis. It is also used for many other diseases In Psoriasis, your skin cells grow and mature too rapidly, resulting in elevated, red plaques covered by dry silvery […]

Oral Isotretinoin

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Your doctor has prescribed oral isotretinoin for use. What is isotretinoin used for? Isotretinoin is used to treat severe acne that has not responded to other acne medicines. It reduces the oil gland activity and clears inflammation. How should I take isotretinoin? Isotretinoin is available in the form of capsules. Take this medicine as directed […]

image description

Traitements dermatologiques

Menu Traitements dermatologiques

La thérapie photodynamique (PDT)

dimanche, mars 3rd, 2013




Qu’est-ce que la thérapie photodynamique (PDT) ? Il s’agit d’une technique qui consiste à produire de l’oxygène activé par le biais d’une substance photosensibilisante et d’une source de lumière. Comment est-ce que ça marche ? L’application d’une crème (acide aminolévulinique) permet à celle-ci de se combiner aux porphrines  qui deviennent activées et donc sensibles à la […]

Traitement du cancer de la peau par chirurgie micrographique de Mohs

mercredi, octobre 19th, 2011




Votre médecin a recommandé la chirurgie micrographique pour retirer votre cancer de peau. Cette page tentera d’expliquer ce qu’implique cette intervention ainsi que ses risques et bénéfices. Qu’est-ce que la chirurgie micrographique ? Nommée après le chirurgien qui l’a développée, la chirurgie micrographique de Mohs (Frederick Mohs) est une chirurgie spécialisée qui vise à enlever […]

Cyclines

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Votre médecin vient de vous prescrire un antibiotique de la classe des cyclines. Les cyclines courantes comprennent: Tetracycline Minocycline Doxycyline A quoi servent les cyclines? Les cyclines servent à traiter les infections ainsi que les inflammations. Elles sont  utilisées dans le traitement de l’acné en inhibant la croissance de la bactérie impliquée ainsi que de […]

Crèmes anti-solaires (écrans solaires)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland A quoi servent les crèmes anti-solaires ? Une exposition excessive aux rayons ultraviolets et infrarouges du soleil peuvent engendrer: des coups de soleil, un vieillissement prématuré de la peau avec formation de rides, des taches brunes, des réactions d’hypersensibilité au soleil et des cancers de peau. Bien que […]

Stéroïdes (corticostéroïdes, cortisone) pris par la bouche

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Votre médecin vient de vous prescrire un stéroïde à prendre par la bouche. A quoi servent les stéroïdes? Les stéroïdes sont similaires à certaines hormones produites par le corps et sont souvent utilisés pour ajouter à leur action dans leur combat contre certaines maladies. Ils sont souvent utilisés […]

Permanganate de potassium

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Le permanganate de potassium est un désinfectant (parmi d’autres) et un nettoyant de la peau. Il sert entre autres à calmer un eczéma (éruption de la peau) et à sécher des lésions suintantes (humides). Instruction: dissoudre quelques cristaux dans un contenant d’eau (bassin, seau, baignoire…) et rajouter de […]

Prise de psoralènes (methoxsalen) par la bouche

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Votre médecin vous a prescrit un psoralène à prendre par la bouche. Le methoxsalen qui est un exemple de psoralène est aussi appelé méladinine.   A quoi sert un psoralène? Les psoralènes augmentent la sensibilité de la peau de 100 fois aux rayons ultraviolets de type A (UVA). Ils sont utilisés en même temps que […]

Psoralènes (médicaments photosensibilisants) en application locale (Methoxsalen) (zones équatoriales uniquement)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Votre médecin vient de vous prescrire un psoralène, la méladinine est un exemple.   A quoi sert un psoralène en application locale ? Les psoralènes en application locale servent à traiter des problèmes de peau comme le vitiligo ou d’autres problèmes de peau en fonction de ce qui est déterminé par le dermatologiste. Cette substance […]

Méthotrexate

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Votre médecin vient de vous prescrire le méthotrexate. Pourquoi utilise t-on le méthotrexate ? Le méthotrexate est un médicament utilisé pour traiter le psoriasis, mais il est également utilisé dans le traitement de beaucoup d’autres maladies. Dans les psoriasis, les cellules se multiplient trop rapidement, ce qui induit […]

Isotrétinoïne par voie orale

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Votre médecin vous a prescrit de l’isotrétinoïne à prendre par la bouche. L’isotrétinoïne – pour quelles affections l’utilise t-on ? L’isotrétinoïne est utilisée pour traiter l’acné sévère ou qui n’a pas répondu à d’autres traitements. Il diminue l’activité des glandes qui produisent l’huile sur la peau et abolit l’inflammation. Comment prendre l’isotrétinoïne? L’isotrétinoïne est disponible […]

image description