Non-drug Treatment

Photodynamic Therapy (PDT)

Sunday, March 3rd, 2013




What is photodynamic therapy (PDT) ? It is a technique which consists of producing activated oxygen by using a photsensitizing substance combined with a source of light. How does it work ? Applying a cream (containing aminolevulinic acid) enables it to combine with porphyrins. The latter then become activated thus susceptible to light. Their reaction […]

Treatment of Skin Cancer with MOHS Micrographic Surgery

Wednesday, October 19th, 2011




Treatment of Skin Cancer with MOHS Micrographic Surgery Your doctor might have recommended micrographic surgery to take away your skin cancer. This page will try to explain the important things related to this surgery as well as the risks and benefits. What is MOHS (Micrographic) Surgery ? Named after the surgeon who developed this technique, […]

Chemical peels

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




What is a chemical peel ? Also called exfoliation treatment, it is a technique of skin regeneration, thus having an “anti-aging” effect. An evaluation before treatment as well as the treatment itself must be done by a physician experienced in dermatology. Different chemical substances can be used. By this technique, skin is exfoliated followed by […]

Phototherapy

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




Phototherapy is the use of light in the treatment of a disease. It was noted in ancient times that psoriasis often improves with exposure to the sun. The sun’s ray consists mainly of visible light, ultraviolet “A” and ultraviolet “B” (UVA and UVB). In the treatment of psoriasis, two main types of phototherapy are used, […]

IPL Treatment

Tuesday, November 24th, 2009




IPL Treatment Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is IPL? IPL stands for “Intense pulsed light”. It is a technology which enables treatment of multiple skin conditions, such as pigmentation and small vascular malformations (telangiectasia). This technology is also known to the public as photorejuvenation. This machine is not a laser in strict […]

Protected: Non-drug Treatment – Table of Contents

Wednesday, March 4th, 2009

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.

image description

Traitements non-médicamenteux

La thérapie photodynamique (PDT)

dimanche, mars 3rd, 2013




Qu’est-ce que la thérapie photodynamique (PDT) ? Il s’agit d’une technique qui consiste à produire de l’oxygène activé par le biais d’une substance photosensibilisante et d’une source de lumière. Comment est-ce que ça marche ? L’application d’une crème (acide aminolévulinique) permet à celle-ci de se combiner aux porphrines  qui deviennent activées et donc sensibles à la […]

Traitement du cancer de la peau par chirurgie micrographique de Mohs

mercredi, octobre 19th, 2011




Votre médecin a recommandé la chirurgie micrographique pour retirer votre cancer de peau. Cette page tentera d’expliquer ce qu’implique cette intervention ainsi que ses risques et bénéfices. Qu’est-ce que la chirurgie micrographique ? Nommée après le chirurgien qui l’a développée, la chirurgie micrographique de Mohs (Frederick Mohs) est une chirurgie spécialisée qui vise à enlever […]

Peelings chimiques (traitements exfoliants)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Qu’est qu’un « peeling chimique » ? Aussi appelé traitement d’exfoliation, il s’agit d’une technique de régénération cutanée et d’anti-âge. Une évaluation au préalable ainsi que le traitement par un dermatologiste sont nécessaires. Différentes solutions chimiques peuvent être utilisées. Il y a exfoliation de la peau et une régénération cutanée suit. La « nouvelle » peau est plus lisse et paraît plus […]

La photothérapie

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




La photothérapie se définit comme l’usage de la lumière dans le traitement d’une maladie. Déjà, dans les temps anciens, le psoriasis était déjà observé comme s’améliorant avec l’exposition solaire. Les rayons du soleil contiennent entre autres des Ultraviolets de type A et B (UVA et UVB). Dans le traitement du psoriasis, deux types principaux de […]

Traitements par l’IPL (Lampe flash)

mardi, novembre 24th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que l’IPL? L’IPL dérive de l’Anglais et signifie « intense pulsed light ». C’est une technologie qui a pour rôle de faire disparaître de multiples affections cutanées, comme la pigmentation et les petites malformations vasculaires (télangiectasies). Pour le public cette technique est aussi appelée photorejuvénation. Cet appareil n’est pas […]

Protégé : Traitements non-médicamenteux – Table des matières

mercredi, mars 4th, 2009

Il n’y pas d’extrait, car cet article est protégé.

image description