Skin Conditions

Smoking and the Skin

Monday, March 4th, 2013




-Smoking is a major problem and particularly in young people. In the past years, increased smoking has been observed in young women. -It would be responsible for at least a quarter of all deaths, because of cardiovascular diseases and lung cancer. On the skin, smoking is responsible for the following changes: Premature Aging: the skin […]

Neurofibromatosis

Sunday, March 3rd, 2013




Neurofibromatosis: Neurofibromas What is Neurofibromatosis ? It is part of the phacomatoses and different forms exist. It is inherited in an autosomal dominant fashion. What are the types of neurofibromatosis and what do they look like ? Neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1) is called Von Recklinghausen’s Disease: It is most frequently associated with cutaneous alterations. It […]

Darier’s Disease (Keratosis Follicularis)

Wednesday, February 27th, 2013




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is Darier’s disease (keratosis follicularis) ? Also called Darier-White Disease. Is one of the most common genodermatosis and affects one person out of 30000. It is inherited in an autosomal dominant pattern. What is it caused by ? The mutated gene codes for a calcium channel regulator. […]

Chicken pox

Wednesday, February 27th, 2013




What is chicken pox ? It is an infectious condition caused by a virus called Varicella Zoster Virus (VZV). It typically affects children. Does it always present ? Once infected, lesions present only after two to three weeks (incubation period). In 30% of cases, there is no obvious manifestation (subclinical). How does it look like […]

Tuberous Sclerosis (TSC)

Tuesday, February 26th, 2013




What is tuberous sclerosis ? TSC is also called Bourneville-Pringle disease, Epiloia. It affects is of 1 individual out of 15000. It is an inherited (genodermatosis) neurocutaneous disorder with systemic and neurological manifestations (phacomatosis). It what way is it inherited ? It is inherited in an autosomal dominant pattern. However this is not absolute as […]

Ichthyosis Vulgaris

Saturday, January 26th, 2013




Ichthyosis Vulgaris: close-up What is ichthyosis vulgaris ? It is an inherited condition (Autosomal dominant pattern) It affects one in 250 people. What does it look like ? It causes dry scaly plaques. The lesions are usually more prominent on the limbs (arms and legs). The plaques usually start to appear a few months after […]

Dermatofibroma

Tuesday, November 6th, 2012




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is dermatofibroma ? It is a benign condition It typically appears in females 9 times more often than in males. It is also known as superficial benign fibrous histiocytoma. What is it caused by ? The exact cause of its development is unknown. There was an inital […]

Skin Manifestations related to Obesity

Saturday, November 3rd, 2012




What is obesity ? Obesity is a public health problem in the industrialized world. It is defined by a BMI (Body Mass Index) of more than 30 Kg/m2. In the United States, it is estimated that  30% of individuals are overweight or obese (BMI more than 25) What medical conditions can we find when obesity […]

Subcutaneous Fat Necrosis of the Newborn

Saturday, September 29th, 2012




Subcutaneous Fat necrosis of the newborn What is Subcutaneous Fat necrosis of the newborn ? It is a lobular panniculitis. It is associated with complications during labor (labour) It presents as asymptomatic indurated subcutaneous dark-red nodules which are typically located in bone proeminant areas (upper back, proximal limbs, cheeks…) When does it occur ? It […]

Pyogenic Granuloma (Botryomycoma in French)

Wednesday, September 12th, 2012




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is it ? Pyogenic granuloma is a benign skin condition caused by the rapid proliferation of blood vessels. Lobular Capillary Hemangioma is the correct name. How does it look like ? Clinically, pyogenic granuloma presents as a fast-growing nodule (s) which is easily broken. Its color (colour) […]

image description

Maladies de peau

Tabagisme et peau

lundi, mars 4th, 2013




-Le tabagisme est un problème majeur plus particulièrement chez les jeunes. Il a surtout augmenté chez les jeunes femmes. -Il serait responsable d’au moins un quart des décès principalement en raison des maladies cardiovasculaires et du cancer du poumon. Au niveau cutané il est responsable des changements suivants: Vieillissement précoce: la peau est très ridée […]

La neurofibromatose

dimanche, mars 3rd, 2013




Neurofibromatose: Neurofibromes Qu’est-ce que la neurofibromatose ? Elle appartient à la classe des phakomatoses et il existe de nombreuses formes. Elle est héritée selon le mode autosomal dominant. Quels sont les types de neurofibromatose et quelle est leur présentation ? Neurofibromatose de type I (NF1) aussi connue sous le nom de maladie de Recklinghausen: Est […]

Maladie de Darier (Kératose folliculaire)

mercredi, février 27th, 2013




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse. Qu-est-ce que la maladie de Darier (Kératose folliculaire) ? On l’appelle aussi maladie de Darier-White. Il s’agit d’une maladie de peau génétique (génodermatose) parmi les plus fréquentes et touche une personne sur 30000. Elle est héritée selon le mode autosomal dominant. Quel en est la cause ? Le […]

Varicelle

mercredi, février 27th, 2013




Qu’est-ce que la varicelle ? Il s’agit d’une maladie infectieuse provoquée par un virus appelé Varicella Zoster Virus (VZV). Elle touche typiquement les enfants. Se manifeste t-elle toujours ? Une fois l’individu infecté, les lésions ne se manifestent qu’après 2 à 3 semaines (période d’incubation). Dans 30% des cas, la maladie ne se manifeste pas […]

Sclérose tubéreuse de Bourneville (TSC)

mardi, février 26th, 2013




Qu’est-ce que la sclérose tubéreuse de Bourneville (TSC) ? Elle est connnue aussi sous le nom de Maladie de Pringle-Bourneville et de l’Epiloia. Elle touche une personne sur 15000. Il s’agit d’une affection neurocutanée héréditaire (génodermatose), qui a donc des manifestations sur la peau et dans le système nerveux (phakomatose) Comment l’affection est-elle héritée ? […]

L’ichtyose vulgaire

samedi, janvier 26th, 2013




L’ichtyose vulgaire vue de près Qu’est-ce que l’ichtyose vulgaire ? Il s’agit d’une affection héréditaire (Autosomique Dominante). Elle touche une personne sur 250. A quoi est-ce que ça ressemble ? L’ichtyose vulgaire apparaît comme des écailles de peau sèche. Les lésions sont normalement plus visibles sur les membres (bras et jambes). Les lésions commencent le […]

L’Histiocytofibrome (Le Dermatofibrome)

mardi, novembre 6th, 2012




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que l’histiocytofibrome (dermatofibrome) ? Il s’agit d’une affection bénigne. Il se présente chez les femmes 9 fois plus fréquemment que chez les hommes. Il est aussi appelé histiocytofibrome bénign superficiel. Quel en est la cause ? La cause exacte de son développement est inconnue. La théorie initiale […]

Manifestations cutanées liées à l’obésité

samedi, novembre 3rd, 2012




L’obésité est un problème de santé publique dans le monde occidental. Elle est présente quand l’IMC (Indice de Masse Corporelle) est supérieur à 30 Kg/m2. Aux Etats-Unis on estime à 30% le nombre de personnes ayant un excès de poids (IMC supérieur à 25) Quels problèmes médicaux retrouve t-on dans l’obésité ? Il est connu […]

Cytostéatonécrose du Nouveau-Né

samedi, septembre 29th, 2012




Cytostéatonécrose du nouveau-né Qu’est-ce que la cytostéatonécrose du nouveau-né ? Il s’agit d’une panniculite lobulaire.* Elle est associée avec des complications pendant l’accouchement. Elle se présente sous la forme de nodules indolores sous-cutanés indurés de couleur rouge-foncé. Les lésions sont typiquement localisées au niveau des saillies osseuses (haut du dos, partie proximale des membres, joues). […]

Le Botriomycome (Granulome Pyogénique)

mercredi, septembre 12th, 2012




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que c’est ? Il s’agit d’une affection cutanée bénigne provoquée par la prolifération rapide de vaisseaux sanguins. Le nom correct de l’affection est l’hémangiome capillaire lobulaire. A quoi est-ce que ça ressemble ? Cliniquement, le botriomycome se présente sous la forme de nodule (s) augmentant de taille […]

image description