Skin Conditions

Hori’s Nevus (Bilateral Acquired Nevus of Ota)

Sunday, June 10th, 2012




Introduction It is a skin disorder which concerns mainly Asians Clinically, Hori’s Nevus can coexist with melasma (chloasma, pregnancy mask) and or solar lentigos. It can be difficult to distinguish them*. *But it is important to distinguish them as Hori’s nevus responds well to the Nd-YAG 1064nm laser. However, solar lentigos (lentigenes) respond well to […]

Skin Conditions – Table of Contents

Monday, March 5th, 2012




Acne vulgaris (pimples) (common acne) Actinic keratosis Contact allergy (Allergic contact dermatitis) Alopecia Areata Eczema and Atopic dermatitis Basal Cell Carcinoma (BCC) Photos Skin Signs of Internal Cancers Skin cancers Chicken Pox Skin Disorders in Young Children Chloasma (Melasma, Pregnancy Mask) Skin disorders induced by cosmetic products Darier’s Disease (Keratosis Follicularis) Dermatofibroma Diaper Candidiasis Skin […]

Lichen Planus

Wednesday, December 15th, 2010




Lichen Planus What is lichen planus ? It is an inflammatory condition of the skin. What is the chance of having it ? At any time, the frequency is evaluated at 0.5% of the population The development of lesions is triggered by stress. What does it look like ? It is characterized by violet bumps […]

Hidradenitis Suppurativa (Verneuil’s Disease)

Tuesday, November 30th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland How frequent is it ? It affects 1% of the population with a peak of 3-4 % in the 11 to 30 years old age group. Females are affected 3 times more than males. (controversial as some studies report no difference) How does it present ? It presents […]

Hansen’s disease (Leprosy)

Friday, August 6th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is Hansen’s disease? It is an infection caused by a bacteria called Mycobacterium Leprae. How is it transmitted? This is still incompletely understood but it would be airborne. It is not transmitted during birth and even prolonged contact does not guarantee transmission. How is it diagnosed? Examination […]

Psoriasis

Saturday, July 10th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is psoriasis ? It is an inflammatory skin condition. An infiltrate of cells involved in inflammation attract other participants to perpetuate the inflammatory process. What are the chances of having it ? The proportion of the population having psoriasis is 2%. This percentage is higher regionally, particularly […]

Lyme Disease (Borreliosis)

Monday, June 7th, 2010




Lyme disease, what is it? Lyme disease (also called Borreliosis) is a systemic disease with skin manifestations. It is caused by bacteria of the Borrelia family which is transmitted via a tick bite (tick of the Ixodes family). The name Lyme disease refers to “Old Lyme”, a town in Connecticut in the United States where […]

Pityriasis Rosea

Thursday, June 3rd, 2010




Pityriasis Rosea Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is pityriasis rosea? Pityriasis rosea is a kind of “skin flu”. It might also be caused by a virus. It is more common in young adults. It tends to have seasonal peaks. What does it look like? It is characterized clinically: initially, it presents as […]

Lupus Erythematosus

Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010




What are the types of lupus erythematosus ? There are three types: Systemic (or acute) lupus erythematosus: important involvement of the internal organs with or without skin manifestations. Subacute lupus erythematosus: moderate internal involvement with cutaneous manifestations. Discoid (or chronic) lupus erythematosus: skin involvement only. How does lupus erythematosus appear on the skin? Generally speaking, […]

Psoriasis: Auspitz Sign

Tuesday, May 25th, 2010




By removing the scale on the surface of the lesion, bleeding happens. The pinpoint bleeding comes from the rupturing of small vessels. These small vessels are located in the dermal papillae which are elongated in psoriasis (papillomatosis).

image description

Maladies de peau

Névus de Hori (Névus d’Ota bilatéral acquis)

dimanche, juin 10th, 2012




Introduction C’est une affection cutanée qui concerne surtout la population asiatique Cliniquement, le Névus de Hori peut coexister avec le melasma (chloasma, masque de grossesse) et ou les les lentigos solaires. Il peut être difficiles à les différencier*. *Mais il est important de les distinguer car le névus de Hori répond bien au laser Nd-YAG […]

Maladies de peau – Table des matières

lundi, mars 5th, 2012




L’acné L’allergie de contact L’allergie au Nickel La perte de cheveux (chute des cheveux) La candidose des langes La cytostéatonécrose du Nouveau-Né Le chloasma (“masque de grossesse”)(mélasma) La tache de vin (angiome plan) Le carcinome basocellulaire (CBC)  photos La borréliose (Maladie de Lyme) Le botriomycome (granulome pyogénique) Les cancers de la peau Les tumeurs pré-cancéreuses […]

Le lichen plan

mercredi, décembre 15th, 2010




Le lichen plan, c’est quoi ? Il s’agit d’une maladie inflammatoire de la peau. Quelles sont les chances de l’avoir ? A n’importe quel moment, le fréquence dans la population est estimée à 0.5%. Ca ressemble à quoi ? Il s’agit d’élevures violettes sur la peau. Ces élevures ont une surface aplatie et sont recouvertes […]

L’hidrosadénite suppurée (Maladie de Verneuil)

mardi, novembre 30th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Est-ce une maladie fréquente? Oui. Elle touche 1% de la population avec un pic de 3.4 % de la tranche d’âge des 11 à 30 ans. Les femmes sont atteintes trois fois plus souvent que les hommes (controversé car certaines études ne rapportent aucune différence). Comment la maladie […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen)

vendredi, août 6th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que la lèpre? Il s’agit d’une infection par une bactérie  Mycobacterium Leprae. Comment est-elle transmise? C’est encore mal compris mais la transmission se ferait par voie respiratoire. Elle n’est pas transmise à la naissance et même un contact prolongé ne guarantit pas sa transmission. Comment la diagnostique […]

Le Psoriasis

samedi, juillet 10th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Le psoriasis, c’est quoi ? Il s’agit d’une maladie inflammatoire de la peau. Un infiltrat de cellules immunitaires attire d’autres participants ce qui perpétue le processus inflammatoire. Quelles sont les chances de l’avoir ? La proportion de personnes atteintes par la psoriasis est de 2%. Ce chiffre peut […]

La borréliose (Maladie de Lyme)

lundi, juin 7th, 2010




La borréliose, c’est quoi? La borréliose (maladie de Lyme) est une maladie systémique avec des manifestations sur la peau. Elle est provoquée par la bactérie du genre Borrelia qui est transmise via une piqûre (morsure) de tiques (famille Ixodes). Le nom maladie de Lyme refère à « Old Lyme », la ville dans le Connecticut (Etats-Unis) où […]

Pityriasis Rosé (de Gibert) (PRG)

jeudi, juin 3rd, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que le pityriasis rosé de Gibert? Le pityriasis rosé est une sorte de grippe de la peau (un virus serait associé à son apparition: cliquer ici pour en savoir plus C’est une affection dermatologique fréquente chez les jeunes adultes. Elle présente des pics de fréquence saisonniers. A […]

Lupus érythémateux

mercredi, juin 2nd, 2010




Quels sont les types de lupus érythémateux? On en distingue trois types: Lupus éythémateux systémique ou lupus érythémateux aigu disséminé: atteinte importante des organes internes avec ou sans atteinte de la peau. Lupus érythémateux subaigu: atteinte modérée des organes internes avec atteinte surtout cutanée. Lupus érythémateux chronique (ou discoïde des Anglo-Saxons): atteinte de la peau […]

Psoriasis: Signe de la rosée sanglante

mardi, mai 25th, 2010




En enlevant la squame à la surface de la lésion, il se produit un saignement. Les saignements proviennent de petits vaisseaux sanguins rupturés Ces petits vaisseaux se trouvent dans les papilles dermiques qui sont alongées dans le psoriasis (papillomatose).

image description