“Traditional” Depigmenting Products

Rhododenol

Tuesday, July 30th, 2013




Rhododenol is also called 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanol. It is manufactured by Kanebo cosmetics and has been on the market since 2008. It is naturally produced and has been approved for the management of pigmentary problems (Melasma, Sun spots, Lentigo…) It is a phenolic compound therefore it is potentially melanocytoxic. It acts by reducing the activity of tyrosinase […]

Kojic acid

Wednesday, March 21st, 2012




Kojic acid It is a fungal metabolite which inhibits the enzyme tyrosinase. It binds to copper which becomes unusable by melanocytes. It is used at a concentration of 1% Its therapeutical effets are weak to moderate. Contributors: Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Bibliography: Katsambas A. Melasma: Pathogenesis and Treatment. 70th Annual Meeting of […]

Hydroquinone (HQ)

Wednesday, March 21st, 2012




Hydroquinone (HQ) Mechanism of action: hydroquinone inhibits activated tyrosinase activity (therefore it does not act on normal skin). A word on available concentrations: 2%: often ineffective 3-5%: good bleaching agent 6-10%: higher concentrations can cause irritation Side effects: Contact dermatitis (Both Allergic and Irritant) Nail Discoloration Exogenous Ochrnosis can rarely occur in dark skin individuals […]

L-ascorbic acid (Vitamin C)

Tuesday, March 20th, 2012




L-ascorbic acid (Vitamin C) Is an antioxidant Is used in the treatment of disorders of pigmentation including melasma (chloasma) (pregnancy mask) Alters the color of melanin from jet black to light tan Unstable as quickly oxidized Bibliography: Katsambas A (Conflicts of Interest: Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Leo Pharma, Merck, Schering-Plough). Melasma: Pathogenesis and Treatment. 70e Réunion annuelle […]

New Depigmenting substances

Monday, February 20th, 2012




New Depigmenting substances: N-acetyl glucosamine Artocarpanone 4-n-butylresorcinol (rucinol) Ursolic Acid Anthraquinones Cinnamic Acid Macelignan Gallic Acid Glycine Isopanduratin A and 4-Hydroxypanduratin A Kurarinol, Kurarinidol and Trifolirhizin Pycnogenol 8% topical indomethacin cream Selina dien-8-one Taxifolin DeoxyArbutin and its second generation derivatives Hydroperoxy Traxastane t; type Triterpene Piceatannol Handog E. Brown Spots: Melasma Updates.2012 (02) – 20th […]

Existing Depigmenting substances

Monday, February 20th, 2012




They act through: Tyrosinase Inhibition Inhibitors of Inflammation-induced Melanogenic Response Peroxidase inhibition Product Reduction and ROS (Radical Oxygen Scavengers)   Tyrosinase inhibition hydroquinone 4-hydroxyanisole 4-S-CAP and derivatives Arbutin Aloesin Azelaic Acid Kojic Acid Ellagic Acid Resveratrol Oxyeresveratrol Licorice Extract Lactic Acid   Inhibitors of Inflammation Induced Melanogenic Response Chamomille Corticosteroids Gliabridin Tranexamic Acid   Peroxidase […]

4-Hydroxyanisole (4-OHA)

Monday, November 15th, 2010




4-OHA is a skin depigmenting agent with moderate efficacy and may be used for the treatment of hyperpigmentary disorders such as melasma and freckles. This agent decreases the number of melanin producing cells in the skin and can whiten the skin to a considerable degree. However, one should be aware of possible side effects such […]

4-Hydroxyanisole-Tretinoin Formulation

Sunday, November 14th, 2010




The addition of 0.01% tretinoin to 4-OHA is shown by several studies to significantly enhance the skin depigmenting effect of 4-OHA. This combination is a very potent skin depigmenting formula and is used for the treatment of liver spots (senile lentigo). Liver spots are usually very resistant to depigmenting agents and are very hard to […]

Arbutin

Saturday, November 13th, 2010




Arbutin is a hydroquinone derivative found in the bearberry extract. This agent was long believed to act as a depigmenting agent. However, there are no human or even animal studies that confirm the efficacy of arbutin as a skin whitener. In addition, recent in vitro studies have cast doubt on its efficacy as a depigmenting […]

Azelaic Acid (AZA)

Tuesday, November 2nd, 2010




AZA is a dicarboxylic acid synthesized by the fungus Malassezia fur fur. Cutaneous infection with this fungus causes a significant and long lasting depigmentation in the affected areas, which is believed to be induced by AZA. AZA is an inhibitor of the enzyme tyrosinase, the key melanogenic enzyme in melanocytes. When applied to the skin […]

image description

Produits dépigmentants « traditionnels »

Rhododénol

mardi, juillet 30th, 2013




Le Rhododénol est aussi appelé 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanol. Il est fabriqué par la marque de cosmétiques japonaise Kenebo est est sur le marché depuis 2008. Il est naturellement produit et est approuvé pour le soin de troubles hyperpigmentaires (Chloasma, Masque de Grossesse, Taches brunes, Lentigos Solaires) C’est un phénol donc il est potentiellement toxique aux cellules pigmentaires […]

L’acide Kojique

mercredi, mars 21st, 2012




Acide Kojique Il s’agit d’un métabolite fongique qui inhibe la tyrosinase Se lie au cuivre qui devient non utilisable par les mélanocytes S’utilise à une concentration de 1% Effets thérapeutiques faibles à modérés Contributeurs: Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Bibliographie: Katsambas A. Melasma: Pathogenesis and Treatment. 70e Réunion annuelle de l’AAD (American Academy […]

L’hydroquinone (HQ)

mercredi, mars 21st, 2012




L’hydroquinone (HQ) Mécanisme d’action: l’hydroquinone inhibe l’activité de la tyrosinase active (elle n’agit donc pas sur la tyrosinase de la peau non atteinte) Un mot sur les concentrations disponibles: 2%: souvent inefficace 3-5%: bon effet blanchissant 6-10%: des plus hautes concentrations peuvent provoquer une irritation Effets secondaires: Dermatite de Contact (Tant bien Irritative qu’Allergique) Décoloration […]

Acide ascorbique (Vitamine C) (L-ascorbic acid)

mardi, mars 20th, 2012




Acide ascorbique (Vitamine C) (L-ascorbic acid) Est un antioxydant Il est utilisé dans le traitement de troubles de la pigmentation dont le mélasma (chloasma) (masque de grossesse) Change la couleur de la mélanine de brun foncé à beige clair Instable car rapidement oxydée Bibliographie: Katsambas A (Conflits d’Intérêts: Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Leo Pharma, Merck, Schering-Plough). Melasma: […]

Nouvelles substances dépigmentantes

lundi, février 20th, 2012




Nouvelles substances dépigmentantes: N-acétyl glucosamine Artocarpanone 4-n-butylrésorcinol (rucinol) Acide Ursolique Anthraquinones Acide Cinnamique Macelignan Acide Gallique Glycine Isopanduratine A and 4-Hydroxypanduratine A Kurarinol, Kurarinidol and Trifolirhizine Pycnogénol Indométhacine topique 8% Selina dien-8-one Taxifoline DeoxyArbutine et ses dérivés de seconde génération Hydroperoxy Traxastane t -type Triterpène Piceatannol Handog E. Brown Spots: Melasma Updates. 2012 (02) 20e […]

Substances dépigmentantes existantes

lundi, février 20th, 2012




Elles agissent selon les méchanismes suivants: Inhibition de la tyrosinase Inhibiteurs de la  réponse mélanogénique induites par inflammation Inhibition de la peroxidase Diminution de la génération de radicaux libres & ROS (Radical Oxygen Scavengers)   Inhibition de la tyrosinase hydroquinone 4 hydroxyanisole 4-S-CAP et ses dérivés Arbutine Aloesine Acide Azélaïque Acide Kojique Acide Ellagique Resvératrol […]

4-Hydroxyanisole (4-OHA)

lundi, novembre 15th, 2010




4-OHA est un agent dépigmentant la peau avec une efficacité modérée et peut être utilisé pour le traitement des troubles de l’hyperpigmentation tels que le melasma (masque de grossesse) et les taches de rousseur (Ephélides). Cet agent diminue le nombre de cellules produisant la mélanine dans la peau et peut blanchir la peau à un […]

Formulation 4-Hydroxyanisole-Trétinoïne

dimanche, novembre 14th, 2010




Dans plusieurs études, il a été démontré que l’ajout de la trétinoïne 0,01% à 4-OHA améliore considérablement l’effet dépigmentant du 4-OHA. Cette  combinaison est une formule puissante qui est utilisée pour le traitement des lentigos (lentigo sénile). Ces derniers sont généralement très résistants aux agents dépigmentants et sont très difficiles à traiter. Très probablement, cette […]

Arbutine

samedi, novembre 13th, 2010




L’Arbutine est un dérivé de l’hydroquinone l’extrait du raisin d’ours (ou busserole). Longtemps, on a cru cet agent comme un dépigmentant. Cependant, il n’existe pas d’études chez l’homme ni même les animaux qui confirment l’efficacité de l’arbutine comme agent blanchissant la peau. En outre, de récentes études in vitro (en laboratoire) ont jeté le doute […]

Acide Azélaïque (AZA)

mardi, novembre 2nd, 2010




L’AZA est un acide dicarboxylique synthétisé par le champignon Malassezia Furfur. L’infection cutanée par ce champignon provoque une dépigmentation significative et de longue durée dans les zones affectées, qui est censée être induite par l’AZA. L’AZA est un inhibiteur de l’enzyme tyrosinase, enzyme clé de la mélanininogenèse (synthèse de la mélanine) dans les mélanocytes. Lorsqu’il […]

image description