Pigmentation Disorders

Vitiligo

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is vitiligo ? Vitiligo is a skin disorder which presents as white spots and patches on the skin. This is due to a progressive loss of the pigment, melanin, which gives us our skin colour. The loss of pigment occurs when pigment cells (melanocytes) are destroyed and […]

Solar lentigines (liver spots, early seborrheic keratosis)

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




What are solar lentigines? Solar lentigines are brown spots 1 cm or greater in diameter, occurring usually on the face and back of the hands. Solar lentigines are evidence of excessive sunlight exposure. They are found in individuals over 40 years of age, especially if they have a long history of working outdoors. How are […]

Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




What is post-infammatory hyperpigmentation? It is a discolouration that is left on the skin after an underlying skin disease has healed. The underlying skin disease may be trauma, skin infection, eczema (dermatitis) or a drug reaction. In dark-skinned persons, the colour tends to be more intense and persists for a longer period. The pigmentation tends […]

Chloasma (Melasma, Pregnancy Mask)

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




What is melasma? Chloasma consists of brown spots/patches on both sides of the face, especially on the cheeks, upper lips, nose and chin. The distribution is usually symmetrical. Chloasma is mainly seen in women of child-bearing age. The colour in Chloasma darkens during sunlight exposure. Chloasma tends to occur during pregnancy and with the use […]

Idiopathic guttate hypomelanosis

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is idiopathic guttate hypomelanosis (IGH)  ? These are discrete porcelain-white spots measuring about 5mm in diameter. The lesions are localized on sun-exposed areas, more often on the forearms and shins. These spots are stable and do not tend to grow. Hairs located on the lesions are unaffected. […]

Freckles

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




What are freckles? Freckles are pale brown spots less than 5 mm in diameter with poorly defined margins. They are first noticed during childhood and are common in fair-skinned individuals. Usually occurring on the face, they darken on sun exposure. They are caused by an increased amount of melanin in the pigment cells. The number  […]

Protected: Pigmentation Disorders – Table of Contents

Saturday, October 4th, 2008

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.

image description

Troubles de la pigmentation

Vitiligo

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que le vitiligo ? Le vitiligo est une affection cutanée qui se présente comme des taches blanches sur la peau. C’est provoqué par la perte progressive de pigment (la mélanine), qui est responsable de la couleur de la peau. La perte de pigment a lieu quand les […]

Lentigos solaires (Kératoses séborrhéiques débutantes)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Qu’est-ce que sont les lentigos solaires? Ce sont des taches brunes de 1cm ou plus de diamètre localisées sur le visage ou le dos des mains. Les lentigos solaires signent l’excès d’exposition solaire. Ils sont retrouvés chez l’individu de plus de 40 ans, souvent si ils ont longtemps travaillé à l’extérieur. Comment traiter les lentigos […]

L’hyperpigmentation post-inflammatoire

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




Qu’est-ce que l’hyperpigmentation post-inflammatoire? Il s’agit d’une décoloration de la peau qui persiste une fois qu’une maladie de peau est guérie. Le problème de peau initial peut être un traumatisme, une infection, un eczéma ou une réaction cutanée à un médicament (liste non exhaustive). Chez les personnes avec une peau plus foncée, la réaction tend […]

Chloasma (“Masque de Grossesse”)(Mélasma)

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




Qu-est-ce que le chloasme ? Il s’agit de taches brunes des deux côtés du visage, surtout sur les joues, les lèvres supérieures, le nez et le menton. La distribution est typiquement symétrique et présente principalement chez la femme en âge de procréer. Les lésions s’assombrissent lors de l’exposition solaire. Le Chloasme tend à apparaître lors […]

Hypomélanose en gouttes idiopathique

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que l’hypomélanose en gouttes idiopathique ? Ce sont des discrètes taches de couleur blanc porcelaine d’environ 5mm de diamètre. Les lésions se distribuent dans les régions exposées au soleil, plus souvent sur les avant-bras et les tibias. Les taches grandissent que peu en taille. Les poils au […]

Taches de rousseur

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




Que sont les taches de rousseur? Il s’agit de taches brunes pâles de moins de 5mm de diamètre mal délimitées. Elles apparaissent pendant l’enfance et affectent le plus souvent les sujets à peau claire. Elles se présentent en général sur le visage et s’assombrissent avec l’exposition solaire. Comment les traiter? L’éviction solaire aide à diminuer […]

Protégé : Troubles de la pigmentation – Table des matières

samedi, octobre 4th, 2008

Il n’y pas d’extrait, car cet article est protégé.

image description