Topical treatment

Sunscreens

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What are sunscreens used for? Excessive exposure to the ultraviolet, visible and infra-red radiation of the sun can cause sunburn, premature aging and wrinkling, brown pigmentation, hypersensitivity reactions to sunlight and skin cancer. Although your skin has its own natural defence mechanism, it’s not enough to prevent the […]

Potassium permanganate

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Potassium Permanganate is a skin disinfectant and cleansing agent. It is used for soothing eczema (skin rash) and for drying wet wounds. Dissolve a few crystals in a container of water. Dilute it to a light purple colour solution. Then use this solution as follows: Bath: Fill a […]

Topical psoralen (methoxsalen) (valid on areas close to the equator only)

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Your doctor has just prescribed a topical methoxsalen paint for you. It is also called meladinine. What is topical methoxsalen used for? Methoxsalen belongs to a group of medicines called psoralens. Topical methoxsalen is used on the skin to treat vitiligo or other skin problems as determined by your doctor. It increases the sensitivity of […]

Emulsifying ointment

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




This is an emollient which is used to moisturize dry skin. It may also be used as a soap substitute on problem skin with eczema or other skin rash which cannot tolerate over-drying toilet soaps. Your doctor has prescribed this for you as a : Moisturizer  Apply it liberally to the affected areas, at least […]

Topical antifungal preparations

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




Topical antifungal preparations Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland If you are prescribed a topical antifungal it may be one of the following (list not complete): Cream / Ointments Ciclopiroxolamine Econazole Miconazole Clotrimazole Ketoconazole Nystatin Terbinafine Liquids Amorolfine Ciclopiroxolamine Econazole Tolciclate Castellani’s Clotrimazole Selenium Sulphide Powders Clotrimazole Miconazole Econazole Tolciclate Pessaries / Vaginal tablets […]

Topical acne/pimple preparations

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




If your doctor has prescribed a topical acne preparation for you. It is probably one of the following (list not complete): Antibiotics Lotion Erythromycin Clindamycin or Peeling Agents Benzoyl Peroxide gel Resorcinol/Sulphur cream What are topical acne/pimple preparations used for? These are applied to the skin to treat acne(pimple). They work by exerting antibacterial action […]

image description

Application topique

Crèmes anti-solaires (écrans solaires)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland A quoi servent les crèmes anti-solaires ? Une exposition excessive aux rayons ultraviolets et infrarouges du soleil peuvent engendrer: des coups de soleil, un vieillissement prématuré de la peau avec formation de rides, des taches brunes, des réactions d’hypersensibilité au soleil et des cancers de peau. Bien que […]

Permanganate de potassium

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Le permanganate de potassium est un désinfectant (parmi d’autres) et un nettoyant de la peau. Il sert entre autres à calmer un eczéma (éruption de la peau) et à sécher des lésions suintantes (humides). Instruction: dissoudre quelques cristaux dans un contenant d’eau (bassin, seau, baignoire…) et rajouter de […]

Psoralènes (médicaments photosensibilisants) en application locale (Methoxsalen) (zones équatoriales uniquement)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Votre médecin vient de vous prescrire un psoralène, la méladinine est un exemple.   A quoi sert un psoralène en application locale ? Les psoralènes en application locale servent à traiter des problèmes de peau comme le vitiligo ou d’autres problèmes de peau en fonction de ce qui est déterminé par le dermatologiste. Cette substance […]

Pommade émulsifyante (emulsifying ointment)

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Il s’agit d’une crème émolliente (hydratante) parmi d’autres fabriquée à partir d’huiles de paraffines qui sert à hydrater la peau sèche.  Elle se rapproche de la consistance et les indications de la vaseline blanche. Elle peut aussi être utilisée en tant que substitut de savon lors d’eczéma ou d’autre éruption cutanée qui ne peut pas […]

Medicaments antifongiques (contre les champignons(et les levures)) en application locale

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse. Si votre médecin vous a prescrit un médicament antifongique local, c’est sûrement un des suivants (liste non exhaustive): Crèmes/pommades Ciclopiroxolamine Econazole Miconazole Clotrimazole Ketoconazole Nystatine Terbinafine Liquides Amorolfine Ciclopiroxolamine Econazole Tolciclate Solution de Castellani Clotrimazole Sulphide de Sélenium Poudres Clotrimazole Miconazole Econazole Tolciclate Pessaires ou ovules intravaginaux Clotrimazole […]

Application de crèmes contre les boutons d’acné

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




Si votre médecin vous a prescrit un produit en application locale c’est probablement l’un des suivants (liste non exhaustive): Lotion antibiotique Erythromycine Clindamycine ou Produit contre les comédons Gel de peroxyde de benzoyle Crème à base de souffre/resorcinol Rétinoïdes en application locale (pas traité ici) Il existe des produits combinant les antibiotiques et les produits […]

image description