Non-drug Treatment

Laser Surgery – Introduction

Monday, November 30th, 2009




Laser Surgery Laser stands for “Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation”. Because they work by converting electrical energy into a parallel beam of intense bright light, lasers can cut, seal or vaporize tissue and blood vessels. The laser’s advantages come from its ability to produce a specific and powerful wavelength of light with a […]

Sclerotherapy

Sunday, November 29th, 2009




What is sclerotherapy used for ? Sclerotherapy is used for the treatment of superficial veins of the legs which are dilated, for small vessels called spider naevi and for telangiectasia. Treatable vessels are either red, pink or purple and can be located on the ankles, legs or thighs. They are arranged linearly or clustered together. […]

Phototherapy

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




Phototherapy is the use of light in the treatment of a disease. It was noted in ancient times that psoriasis often improves with exposure to the sun. The sun’s ray consists mainly of visible light, ultraviolet “A” and ultraviolet “B” (UVA and UVB). In the treatment of psoriasis, two main types of phototherapy are used, […]

Lasers in Skin Disorders

Saturday, November 28th, 2009




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland How is laser used to treat skin disorders? Laser is a very pure and intense light source. When the laser light shines onto the skin, a certain target in the skin absorbs the laser light. Different targets in the skin will absorb laser light of different characteristics. After […]

Laser Hair Removal

Friday, November 27th, 2009




Why do I have excessive hairs? A. For most people, this is due to genetic or familial factors. There is no underlying medical cause for the excessive hair growth. B. Rarely, excessive hairs maybe due to underlying medical problems. These conditions are associated with hormonal disturbances resulting in extra hair growth. Besides excessive hairs, these […]

Laser Resurfacing Treatment Against Scars/Wrinkles

Thursday, November 26th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What Is Laser Skin Resurfacing? Using a special scanner attached to a carbon dioxide laser, your dermatologist can delicately exfoliate your skin accurately layer by layer. The superficial layer of skin is removed and the deeper layer of skin is exposed. Here collagen is stimulated and a new […]

Laser Treatment of Pigmentary Disorders and Tattoos

Wednesday, November 25th, 2009




Q-Switched Nd: YAG Laser The Q-Switched Nd: YAG Laser is a type of laser developed to remove blue, brown, black and possibly other colours of tattoo pigment and certain brown pigment growths and birthmarks from the skin. Although laser sugery is effective in most cases, no guarantee can be made that a specific patient will […]

IPL Treatment

Tuesday, November 24th, 2009




IPL Treatment Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is IPL? IPL stands for “Intense pulsed light”. It is a technology which enables treatment of multiple skin conditions, such as pigmentation and small vascular malformations (telangiectasia). This technology is also known to the public as photorejuvenation. This machine is not a laser in strict […]

image description

Traitements physiques

Chirurgie par le Laser-Une introduction

lundi, novembre 30th, 2009




Introduction au traitement par le Laser Laser signifie “Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation.” Comme le laser transforme une énergie électrique en énergie lumineuse parallèle et intense, les lasers peuvent couper et vaporiser les tissus et les vaisseaux sanguins. Les avantages du traitement au laser sont de générer une énergie lumineuse pure d’une longueur […]

Sclérothérapie

dimanche, novembre 29th, 2009




A quoi sert la sclérothérapie? La sclérothérapie sert au traitement des veines superficielles des jambes qui sont dilatées, pour de petits vaisseaux appelées angiomes stellaires, pour les télangiectasies. Les vaisseaux sont soit roses, rouges ou pourpres et peuvent se localiser sur les chevilles, bas des jambes ou mollets. Ils sont disposés linéairement ou en groupe. […]

La photothérapie

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




La photothérapie se définit comme l’usage de la lumière dans le traitement d’une maladie. Déjà, dans les temps anciens, le psoriasis était déjà observé comme s’améliorant avec l’exposition solaire. Les rayons du soleil contiennent entre autres des Ultraviolets de type A et B (UVA et UVB). Dans le traitement du psoriasis, deux types principaux de […]

Le Laser dans le traitement des problèmes cutanés

samedi, novembre 28th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Comment utilise t-on les lasers pour traiter les troubles cutanés? Le laser est une source intense de lumière pure. Quand la lumière du laser atteint la peau, une cible spécifique dans la peau absorbe la « couleur » de la lumière dans le laser. Différentes cibles dans la […]

L’épilation au Laser

vendredi, novembre 27th, 2009




Pourquoi est-ce que j’ai trop de poils? A. Pour la majorité des personnes, c’est génétique ou héréditaire. Il n’y a alors pas de cause médicale à l’excès de poils. B. Rarement, il y a une cause médicale. Ces anomalies sont caractérisées par des perturbations hormonales qui stimulent la croissance de poils. En plus de ces […]

Traitement des rides/cicatrices par le resurfaçage au Laser

jeudi, novembre 26th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que le traitement par resurfaçage au Laser? Il s’agit d’un laser au CO2 (ou erbium…), qui permet au dermatologiste d’exfolier délicatement votre peau de manière précise, couche par couche. La couche superficielle est détruite (complètement ou partiellement), et les couches plus profondes de la peau sont stimulées […]

Traitements des tatouages et des problèmes de pigmentation par le Laser

mercredi, novembre 25th, 2009




Laser ND-Yag Q-switched Ce laser est un type de laser développé pour cibler les tatouages qui sont colorés en noir, brun et possiblement d’autres couleurs. D’autres types de laser peuvent enlever les tatouages verts ou rouges. Le laser ND-YAG sert aussi à enlever des excroissances de couleur brunes et d’autres taches de naissance sur la […]

Traitements par l’IPL (Lampe flash)

mardi, novembre 24th, 2009




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que l’IPL? L’IPL dérive de l’Anglais et signifie « intense pulsed light ». C’est une technologie qui a pour rôle de faire disparaître de multiples affections cutanées, comme la pigmentation et les petites malformations vasculaires (télangiectasies). Pour le public cette technique est aussi appelée photorejuvénation. Cet appareil n’est pas […]

image description