Management opinions

Chronic Urticaria (For Professionals)

Wednesday, January 1st, 2014




Chronic Urticaria (For Professionals) Chronic urticaria is a clinical sign of wheals appearing for more than 6 weeks. Numerous causes are identified and sometimes and auto-immune condition is found. If no cause is found which ranges from 25% to 75% of cases, autologous serum skin testing can be done, followed by dosing of anti-FCeRI antibodies […]

Vitiligo (For Professionals)

Friday, November 1st, 2013




Vitiligo (For Professionals) Vitiligo affects around 1% of the population and is more visible in darker races. It is important to follow these steps: 1. See a dermatologist: -to confirm the diagnosis. -to classify the vitiligo: extent and distribution. -to ascertain its behaviour (stable for 6 months or evolutive?) -to follow an algorythm of treatment […]

Long-lasting Hair Removal: Is it Possible ? (For Professionals)

Thursday, August 1st, 2013




Long-lasting Hair Removal: Is it Possible ? (For Professionals) A lot of time and financial resources are spent by the patients for hair removal. It is often believed by the public that hair removal can be complete aften multiple treatment sessions. However this is wrong for many reasons: different lasers achieve different long term results […]

Keratosis Pilaris (For Professionals)

Saturday, December 29th, 2012




Keratosis pilaris is a very frequent condition: It presents as follicular scaly papules affected all areas except the glabrous skin but mostly found on the arms, legs and buttocks. These lesions are painless but may be red and itchy at times. It is associated with Atopy and Ichtyosis Vulgaris: Both conditions are characterized by a […]

Cryotherapy on Benign Lesions (liquid nitrogen)(For Professionnals)

Sunday, December 2nd, 2012




Cryotherapy on Benign Lesions (liquid nitrogen)(For Professionnals) Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Cryotherapy (a controlled frosbite) is an effective tool to treat benign skin tumors provided clinical judgment and/or histology exclude a malignant skin condition when excision becomes mandatory. It destroys tissue through freezing which causes intracellular and extracellular ice crystals to form […]

Psoriasis Management: A Multidisciplinary Approach (For Professionals)

Sunday, August 5th, 2012




Psoriasis is a skin condition which involves 2% of the population. Its causes include environmental and genetic factors. It can be localized or extensive and treatment ranges from topical to systemic agents. Beyond the dermatologist, who is often the only physicians psoriasis patients will see, there is often associated conditions which need to be taken […]

Acne Vulgaris in Adult Females: Hormonal treatment (For Professionals)

Thursday, June 14th, 2012




Hormonal therapies (antiandrogens) such as oral contraceptives and spironolactone are often used in the treatment of acne, particularly in adult women. It is therefore sometimes useful to run blood tests in acne patients entering this category, morevover when there is a clinical suspicion of virilizing ovarian tumors, polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS), congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH). […]

Protected: Management Opinions – Table of Contents

Thursday, December 29th, 2011

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.

Androgenic Alopecia (Androgenetic Alopecia) in Women (For Professionals)

Thursday, September 15th, 2011




Androgenetic (androgenic) alopecia in women (for professionals) Androgenetic alopecia and to a lesser extent Telogen effluvium are the two most frequent causes of hair loss in women. To make the diagnosis: General examination of the scalp evaluate the distribution of the hair loss are hair follicles present? traction (does the hair go away easily?) evaluate […]

Keloids (For Professionals)

Wednesday, June 15th, 2011




Keloids represent an abnormal reaction to trauma with an excessive tissue response and a excessive production of collagen (increased mRNA of collagen). Effective treatment modalities are limited and include on first line cryotherapy, intralesional injections of steroids, compression therapy, and radiotherapy (in trained hands). The best treatment second line treatment remains to our mind excision […]

image description

Avis de prise en charge

Urticaire chronique (pour les professionnels)

mercredi, janvier 1st, 2014




L’urticaire chronique est un symptôme de papules apparaissant depuis plus de 6 semaines. De nombreuses causes sont identifiées parmi elles une cause auto-immunitaire est parfois identifiée. Si aucune cause n’est trouvée, c’est-à-dire dans 25% à 75% des cas, on peut faire un « Autologuous Serum Skin Test (ASST) , suivi par un dosage de l’anticoprs anti-FceRI. […]

Vitiligo (pour les professionnels)

vendredi, novembre 1st, 2013




Le vitiligo touche environ 1% de la population mondiale et est plus visible chez les individus à peau plus foncée. Il est important de suivre les étapes suivantes: 1. Consulter un dermatologiste: -afin de confirmer le diagnostic. -afin de classifier le type de vitligo et son étendue. -afin de suivre son évolution (stable pendant plus […]

Epilation définitive: est-ce possible? (pour les professionnels)

jeudi, août 1st, 2013




Les patients dépensent beaucoup de temps et de ressources financières pour l’épilation. Le patient pense souvent qu’une épilation définitive peut être  achevée après quelques séances de traitement. Toutefois ceci est faux pour plusieurs raisons: différents lasers ont une répercussion différente sur la croissance des poils. même les meilleurs lasers ne font que diminuer le nombre […]

Kératose Pilaire (Pour les professionnels)

samedi, décembre 29th, 2012




La kératose pilaire est une affection cutanée très fréquente: Elle se présente comme des papules folliculaires rugueuses affectant toutes les régions du corps à l’exception de la peau glabre. Elle prédomine au niveau des bras, des jambes et des fesses. Ces lésions sont indolores mais peuvent être parfois rouges et provoquer des démangeaisons. Elle est […]

La cryothérapie sur les lésions bénignes(azote liquide)(pour les professionnels)

dimanche, décembre 2nd, 2012




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse. La cryothérapie (une gelure contrôlée) est un instrument efficace pour traiter les lésions cutanées bénignes pour autant qu’un jugement clinique ou un examen histologique ait exclu une tumeur maligne, c’est-à-dire quand une excision devient nécessaire. La cryothérapie induit une destruction tissulaire par réfrigération: des cristaux de glace intracellulaire […]

Prise en charge du psoriasis: une approche mulitdisciplinaire (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, août 5th, 2012




Le psoriasis est une affection cutanée qui touche 2% de la population. Des facteurs environnementaux et génétiques en sont responsables. Il peut être localisé ou extensif et le traitement peut être local (topique) ou systémique. En plus du dermatologue qui est souvent le seul médecin que ces patients voient, il y a souvent des facteurs […]

Acné chez la femme adulte: traitement hormonal (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 14th, 2012




Les traitements hormonaux (antiandrogènes) comme les contraceptifs oraux et le spironolactone sont souvent utilisés dans le traitement de l’acné, en particulier chez les femmes adultes. Il est donc souvent utile de faire des prises de sang chez les personnes souffrant d’acné dans cette catégorie. Cela est d’autant plus vrai si il y a une suspicion […]

Protégé : Avis de prise en charge – Table des matières

jeudi, décembre 29th, 2011

Il n’y pas d’extrait, car cet article est protégé.

L’alopécie androgénique (androgénétique) chez les femmes (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, septembre 15th, 2011




L’ alopécie androgénétique, puis loin derrière l’effluvium télogène sont les deux causes les plus fréquentes de perte de cheveux chez la femme. La démarche diagnostique est la suivante: Examen général du cuir chevelu évaluer la distribution de la perte. y a t-il des follicules pilleux? traction (est-ce que les cheveux partent facilement?). évaluer la quantité […]

Chéloides (pour les professionels)

mercredi, juin 15th, 2011




Les Chéloides représentent une réaction anormale à un traumatisme ayant induit une réponse excessive des tissus et une production excessive de collagène (augmentation des ARNm de collagène). Les modalités thérapeutiques efficaces sont limitées et incluent: la cryothérapie en première ligne, des injections intralésionnelles de stéroïdes, la thérapie de compression, et la radiothérapie (dans des mains […]

image description