Management opinions

Acne Scars (For Professionals)

Sunday, April 10th, 2011




Scarring in acne as in other skin diseases is the result of an initally active process. Consider two situations: 1. either the pimples are still developing 2. the pimples have stopped developing and only scars are left 1. In this situation, it is important to prevent new pimples from developing as they are developing “bombs” […]

How to Avoid Overprescribing (Topical Treatment)(For Professionals)

Saturday, March 12th, 2011




Over- and underprescribing is very common when prescribing a cream when treating a skin condition. Two simple rules can avoid this: the fingertip unit (FTU) -it is a specific amount of cream on the index. It was initially designed for topical steroid treatment but is valid for any treatment with a semi-solid topical substance (cream, […]

Acne Vulgaris (for professionals)

Friday, January 14th, 2011




Acne is common but can be psychologically devastatating. It is important to see a dermatologist whose role is: -to confirm the diagnosis of acne vulgaris. -to determine the type of acne: retentional (non inflammatory) or inflammatory. -to determine the psychological impact to determine aggressivity of treatment. -to monitor the effects of treatment. Some advice for […]

Xerosis (Dry Skin)(For Professionals)

Wednesday, November 17th, 2010




Dry skin is commonly referred to as xerosis, which is a form of endogeneous eczema (the skin is not red). It is very common and tends to occur when absolute humidity levels are low such as in the winter in temperate countries. It is also a complaint of people living in tropical climates migrating to […]

Plaque Psoriasis (for professionals)

Tuesday, September 14th, 2010




Psoriasis is a frequent inflammatory dermatosis which affects 1 to 2% of the global population. It is more frequent in Scandinavia and Europe. It is less frequent in Blacks and Chinese and is a rarity in Ethnic American-Indian population. Its cause is genetic (PSOR1 gene on chromosome 6) and environmental (guttate psoriasis for example has […]

Screening for Body dysmorphic disorder (BDD) before undergoing a cosmetic procedure (for professionals)

Sunday, July 4th, 2010




Body Dysmorphic Disorder is  a psychiatric condition whch is characterized by obsessive and destructive preoccupation of minor visible defects; it affects in 93% of cases the skin and in other cases, the eyes, facial features such as the nose or excessive body weight. Cosmetic treatments are sought more frequently and invariably lead in this condition […]

Sunburn (For Professionals)

Tuesday, June 15th, 2010




Although prevention is better than cure, there are chances that you or someone around will get sunburnt. It is more likely in the summer months, when in high altitude, when increasing outdoor activities, when on far-away holidays, and when indulging in sun-seeking behaviour (e.g. sunbathing). In acute sunburn (erythema, pain, edema, desquamation, bullae) Always keep […]

Stretch Marks (Striae Distensae)(for professionals)

Sunday, May 16th, 2010




No current therapeutical modality gives complete clearance: -the best way remains prevention. -Our impression is that the most effective available treatments will yield around 30% improvement. CREAMS -tretinoin (retin A) 0.1% has a proven effect (Topical tretinoin 0.1% for pregnancy-related abdominal striae: an open-label, multicenter, prospective study. Rangel O, Arias I, García E, Lopez-Padilla S. […]

Mesotherapy: necessary risks ? (For Professionals)

Thursday, May 13th, 2010




Mesotherapy was developed in 1952 by Michel Pistor. The technique was initally targeted at vascular and lymphatic diseases treatment. It consists of the injection with very fines needles of hormones, enzymes, nutrients, pharmaceutical products, homeopathic agents, detergents as well as other products in the subcutaneous fat (hypodermis) of the skin (phosphtatidylcholine injection would not be […]

Melasma (for professionals)

Saturday, March 27th, 2010




Melasma (for professionals) Melasma is a very cumbersome condition especially in pigmented skin. It is important to note that only superficial located pigment can improve, not the pigment located deeper in the dermis. Examination with Wood’s lamp (360nm, blue light) is a plus (note that it may be less reliable in phototypes IV and above […]

image description

Avis de prise en charge

Cicatrices d’acné (pour les profesionnels)

dimanche, avril 10th, 2011




La formation de cicatrices dans l’acné est le résultat de lésions initialement actives. On peut considérer deux situations: 1. soit des nouvelles lésions apparaissent 2. soit il n’y a plus de développement de lésions nouvelles et seules les cicatrices demeurent. 1. Dans cette situation, il est important de prévenir la formation de nouvelles lésions car […]

Prescrire la bonne quantité de crème (traitement topique)(pour les professionnels)

samedi, mars 12th, 2011




Prescrire trop ou pas assez de crèmes est fréquent lors des traitements d’un problème dermatologique. Deux règles simples permettent d’éviter cela: l’unité fingertip (UFT) -c’est une quantité spécifique de crème sur l’index. Elle fut initalement développée pour l’usage de stéroïdes topique mais demeure valable lors de tout traitement topique avec un produit semi-solide (crème, lotion, […]

Acné Vulgaire (pour les professionnels)

vendredi, janvier 14th, 2011




L’acné est fréquente mais peut avoir un effet psychologiquement dévastateur. Il est important de consulter un dermatologue, dont le rôle est: -de confirmer le diagnostic de l’acné vulgaire. afin de déterminer le type d’acné: retentionnel (non inflammatoire) ou inflammatoire. -afin de déterminer l’impact psychologique pour déterminer l’agressivité du traitement. -de suivre la tolérance au traitement. […]

Xérose (peau sèche)(Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, novembre 17th, 2010




La peau sèche, aussi dénomée xérose, est une forme d’eczéma endogène (la peau n’est pas rouge). C’est très fréquent et sévit quand les taux d’humidité absolue sont bas, ce qui est le cas en hiver dans les pays tempérés. C’est aussi une plainte fréquente des personnes ayant migré de pays tropicaux vers des pays plus […]

Psoriasis en plaques (pour les professionnels)

mardi, septembre 14th, 2010




Le psoriasis est une maladie dermatologique fréquente touchant 1 à 2% de la population mondiale. Elle est plus fréquente en Scandinavie et en Europe et affecte peu les races noire et chinoise. Elle est rare chez les amérindiens. C’est une dermatose inflammatoire dont les étiologies sont génétiques (gène PSOR1 sur le chromosome 6) et environmentales […]

Dépistage de la dysmorphophobie avant un traitement esthétique (pour les professionnels)

dimanche, juillet 4th, 2010




La dysmorphophobie est une affection psychiatrique qui est charactérisée par des préoccupations obsessives et délétères d’imperfections mineures; elle concerne dans 93% la peau et dans les autres cas, des parties du visage comme le nez et les yeux, ou encore un excès pondéral. Des traitements à visée esthétique sont recherchés plus fréquemment et un traitement […]

Coup de soleil (érythème solaire)(insolation)(pour les professionnels)

mardi, juin 15th, 2010




Bien que la prévention prime sur le traitement, il y a des chances que vous ou l’un de vos proches attrape un coup de soleil. C’est d’autant plus fréquent en été, en haute altitude, lors de séjours lointains, lors de l’augmentation des activités à l’extérieur, et lors d’activités sous le soleil (par exemple le bronzage). […]

Vergeture (Vergetures) (pour les professionnels)

dimanche, mai 16th, 2010




Aucune modalité thérapeutique actuelle ne donne une disparition complète: -Le meilleur moyen demeure la prévention. -Notre impression est que les traitements les plus efficaces qui sont disponibles permettent 30% d’amélioration. CRÈMES -la trétinoïne (retin A) à 0,1% a un effet prouvé (trétinoïne topique à 0,1% pour les stries abdominales associées à la grossesse: démontré dans […]

La mésothérapie: un mal pour un bien? (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, mai 13th, 2010




La mésothérapie fut mise au point en 1952 par Michel Pistor. La technique fût initalement dévéloppée dans le traitement de troubles vasculaires et lymphatiques. Elle consiste en l’injection avec de très fines aiguilles d’hormones, d’enzymes, de nutrients, de produits pharmaceutiques, d’agents homéopathiques, de détergents ainsi que d’autres produits dans la couche sous-cutanée (hypoderme) de la peau (l’injection […]

Chloasma (pour les professionnels)

samedi, mars 27th, 2010




Le chloasma (masque de grossesse) est un problème cutané très gênant est est plus fréquent dans les peaux plus pigmentées. Il est important de noter qu’une amélioration ne peut être obtenue que pour une pigmentation de localisation superficielle. L’examen clinique avec un lumière de Wood (360nm, lumière bleue) est un plus. (à noter qu’il peut […]

image description