Specialized Subjects in Dermatology

Menu Specialized Subjects in Dermatology

Dermatology in Systemic Disease – Table of Contents

Wednesday, November 5th, 2014




Iron Deficiency Anemia (Anaemia) And The Skin Skin lesions in Crohn’s disease (2) Dermatomyositis Mesothelioma and the Skin Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin Skin Manifestations of Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) Photosensitivity Morphea (Localized Scleroderma)

Drug Eruptions in the Skin (toxiderma) (For Professionals)

Saturday, November 1st, 2014




Drug Eruptions in the Skin (toxiderma) (For Professionals) Our skin reflects our health. Do you know that our skin also reacts to the drugs that we use? A drug reaction may mimic any type of skin disease and may present with rashes, swelling, redness, itching and pain. They can be bullous, pustular, urticarial or papulosquamous. […]

Skin Manifestations of Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) (For Professionals)

Wednesday, October 1st, 2014




One of the autoimmune systemic diseases which have extensive skin manifestations is mixed connective tissue disease or MCTD. This disorder is a combination of other autoimmune diseases such as lupus erythematosus, systemic sclerosis and polymyositis. The cause of this disorder is not completely known but is stipulated to be an effect of one’s immune system […]

Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin (For Professionals)

Friday, August 1st, 2014




Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin (For Professionals) Metabolic syndrome is also known as metabolic syndrome X, cardiometabolic syndrome, syndrome X, insulin resistance syndrome, Reaven’s syndrome (named for Gerald Reaven), and CHAOS (in Australia). It affects 24% of the adults in the US, with the highest prevalence being in individuals 60 through 69 years of age […]

Lyme disease and the Skin (For Professionals)

Tuesday, July 1st, 2014




Some of the infections which affect the body can manifest itself with some skin changes. This is what happens in Lyme disease (also called Borreliosis). Lyme disease is a bacterial illness caused by a spiral shaped bacteria (spirochete) named Borrelia burgdorferi. These are bacteria which are often found in deer. What happens is that the […]

Photosensitivity (For Professionals)

Thursday, May 1st, 2014




If you are sensitive to sunlight, you may have a condition known as photosensitivity. Photosensitivity is often defined as the amount to which a person reacts upon receiving light. There are many conditions which can give rise to sensitivity of the skin to a light source. It is said that people with particular skin types […]

Lupus Erythematosus and the Skin (For Professionals)

Tuesday, April 1st, 2014




Lupus Erythematosus and the Skin (For Professionals) Have you heard about Lupus Erythematosus (LE)? This is an autoimmune disorder which is caused by antibodies against the nucleus of cells. They are usually found in women aged 20 to 50, but males can also be affected. It is a systemic disorder (affects the whole body) but […]

Menopause and the Skin (For Professionals)

Sunday, September 1st, 2013




Menopause and the Skin (For Professionals) How to Take Care of Your Skin during Menopause ? The middle to late 40s is a critical period in a woman’s life. It is the age when menopause occurs. In medical literature, menopause is defined as the day a woman has been diagnosed as not having a menstrual […]

Dermatomyositis (For Professionals)

Friday, March 1st, 2013




Dermatomyositis is is a type of inflammatory disease characterized by muscle weakness and a distinctive skin rash. Epidemiology Dermatomyositis is a condition which affects both adults and children. In adults, dermatomyositis usually occurs from the late 40s to early 60s, while in children, the disease most often appears between 5 and 15 years of age. […]

Skin Manifestations of Crohn’s Disease (For Profesionals)

Sunday, January 27th, 2013




Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) may manifest itself in the skin. One such IBD is Crohn’s disease. This IBD affects the gut anywhere from the mouth to the anus and results to gut obstruction and painful diarrhea. There may also be fever, constipation, weight loss, and painful joints due to inflammation brought about by triggers. However, […]

image description

Sujets dermatologiques spécialisés

Menu Sujets dermatologiques spécialisés

Dermatologie dans les maladies systémiques – Table des matières

mercredi, novembre 5th, 2014




Manifestations cutanées des connectivites mixtes (ou connectivite mixte) (CM) (Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD)) Les lésions cutanées dans la maladie de Crohn (2) Dermatomyosite Manifestations cutanées de l’anémie ferriprive (déficit en fer)  Le mésothéliome et la peau Le Syndrome métabolique et la peau La morphée (Sclérodermie Localisée) La photosensibilité

Réactions cutanées liées à la prise de médicaments (toxidermie) (Pour les professionnels)

samedi, novembre 1st, 2014




Notre peau reflète notre santé ainsi que les substances que nous ingérons. Des réactions médicamenteuses peuvent ressembler à toutes les maladies de peau et peuvent se présenter comme des éruptions cutanées, des tuméfactions, des rougeurs, des démangéaisons et des douleurs. Elle peuvent être bulleuses, pustuleuses, urticariennes ou papulosquameuses. Bien qu’il y ait beaucoup de présentations, […]

Manifestations cutanées des connectivites mixtes (ou connectivite mixte) (CM) (Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD)) (Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, octobre 1st, 2014




Une des maladies autoimmunes avec des attteintes cutanees extensives sont les connectivite(s) mixte(s) (CM). Ce groupe de maladie est une combinaison d’autres maladies autoimmunes comme le lupus erythémateux , la sclérodermie systémique et la polymyosite. La cause de la CM n’est pas complètement élucidée mais on pense qu’il s’agit du résultat de l’attaque par son […]

Syndrome métabolique et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, août 1st, 2014




Le syndrome métabolique est également connu sous les noms suivants: le syndrome métabolique X, le syndrome cardiométabolique, le syndrome X, syndrome d’insulinorésistance, le syndrome de Reaven (du nom de Gerald Reaven), et le CHAOS (en Australie). Il affecte 24% des adultes aux Etats-Unis, avec la prévalence la plus élevée étant chez les individus 60 à […]

La maladie de Lyme et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

mardi, juillet 1st, 2014




Certaines des infections qui affectent le corps peut se manifester avec des changements cutanés. C’est ce qui arrive dans la maladie de Lyme (également appelée borréliose). La maladie de Lyme est une maladie bactérienne causée par une bactérie en forme de spirale (spirochète) nommée Borrelia burgdorferi. Ce sont des bactéries qui se trouvent souvent dans […]

La photosensibilité (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, mai 1st, 2014




Si vous êtes sensibles à la lumière, vous pourriez etre atteints de photosensibilité. La photosensibilité se définit comme une réaction cutanée lorsque celle-ci est exposée à une quantité plus faible de lumière. Il existe plusieurs affections qui peuvent rendre la peau sensible à une source de lumière. On dit que certaines personnes avec des peaux […]

Le Lupus érythémateux et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

mardi, avril 1st, 2014




Avez-vous entendu parler du lupus érythémateux (LE)? C’est une maladie auto-immune qui est causée par des anticorps contre le noyau des cellules. La maladie se manifeste habituellement les femmes âgées de 20 à 50 ans, mais les hommes peuvent aussi être affectés. Il s’agit d’un trouble systémique (qui affecte tout le corps) mais il peut […]

Ménopause et peau (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, septembre 1st, 2013




Comment s’occuper de sa peau lors de la ménopause ? La période de la mi-quarantaine constitue une période critique dans la vie d’une femme. Il s’agit de l’âge de la ménopause. Cette dernière se définit médicalement lorsqu’il n’y a pas eu des règles pendant 12 mois consécutifs (cela signifie aussi qu’au délà il n’y aura […]

Dermatomyosite (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, mars 1st, 2013




La dermatomyosite est un type de maladie inflammatoire de la peau qui se caractérise par une inflammation des muscles (myosite) et des lésions cutanées caractéristiques. Epidémiologie La dermatomyosite est une affection qui touche à la fois les adultes et les enfants. Chez les adultes, la dermatomyosite se produit généralement entre 40 et 60 ans: alors […]

Manifestations cutanées de la maladie de Crohn (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, janvier 27th, 2013




La maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (Inflammatory Bowel Disease en anglais (IBD)) peut avoir des manifestations sur la peau. La maladie de Crohn qui est une forme d’IBD peut affecter le tube digestif de la bouche à l’anus et résulte en une occlusion ainsi que des diarrhées douloureuses. Il peut aussi y avoir fièvre, constipation, perte […]

image description