Dermatology in Infectious Diseases

Menu Dermatology in Infectious Diseases

Dermatology in Infectious Diseases – Table of Contents

Saturday, October 20th, 2012




Carrion’s Disease and the Skin American Trypanosomiasis (Chagas Disease) and the skin Cholera and the skin Dengue Fever and the skin Influenza (flu) and the skin Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) HIV infection/AIDS and the Skin Malaria and the skin Schistosomiasis (Bilharziosis) and the Skin African Trypanosomiasis (Sleeping Sickness) and the Skin Tuberculosis and the Skin

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Table of Contents

Wednesday, September 19th, 2012




Dermatology in Infectious Diseases – Table of Contents Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy): Introduction Etiology: Mycobacterium leprae and its transmission The disease and its classification Clinical features Diagnostic tests Complications Treatment

Schistosomiasis (Bilharziosis) and the Skin (For professionals)

Monday, August 16th, 2010




Synomyms: bilharzia, bilharziosis, snail fever. It is due to an infection by a trematode (flatworm or fluke) of the Schistosomia family. It is a disease frequent in Africa, Asia and South America where lakes containing freshwater snails are present. Children playing in the water are the first victims. Symptoms and signs of this infection are […]

African Trypanosomiasis (Sleeping Sickness) and the Skin (For professionals)

Sunday, August 15th, 2010




It is due to a protist (parasites) and transmitted by the Tsetse fly (also Mother-to child transmission and blood transfusions) . Around 60000 individuals (mainly in Sub-Saharan Africa) are infected. Treatment is available. There are two stages called the haemolymphatic and the neurological phase. The haemolymphatic phase is characterized by fever, headache, joint pain and […]

American Trypanosomiasis (Chagas Disease) and the skin (For professionals)

Saturday, August 14th, 2010




Synonyms: Chagas Disease, Portugueuse (Português): doença de Chagas, barbeiro. Spanish (Español): enfermedad de Chagas-Mazza, mal de Chagas, vinchuca, pito, chinche, chipo, chupança, chinchorro. Also called Chagas’s disease, it is a protozoan infection transmitted through an triatomine insect bite (“kissing bugs”). It is prevalent from the south of the USA to South America and infects up […]

Cholera and the skin (For profesionals)

Friday, August 13th, 2010




Cholera is an infectious disease due to ingestion of food or water drinking contaminated by the Vibrio Cholerae bacteria. Up to 150000 people are infected each year, 90% of which are in Africa. It leads to a profuse painless watery diarrhea which can lead to severe dehydration and death. Treatment is technically simple and consists […]

Dengue Fever and the skin (For professionals)

Thursday, August 12th, 2010




Up to 100 million individuals may be infected by the dengue virus each year. The virus is transmitted through arthropod bites (usually mosquitos). Population increase makes control of mosquito population difficult as breeding sites (stagnant waters) are more numerous and less detectable (roofs…). Infection ranges from asymptomatic infection to dengue fever with/without hemorrhagic fever and […]

HIV infection/AIDS and the Skin (For professionals)

Wednesday, August 11th, 2010




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland HIV is a global pandemic caused by infection by the HIV virus. It affects more than 30 million individuals world wide. Around 70% of individuals affected live in Sub-Saharan Africa, around 20% of individuals live in South and South-East Asia. Untreated the median survival ranges from 9-11 years […]

Carrion’s Disease and the Skin (For professionals)

Tuesday, August 10th, 2010




Synonyms: Verruga peruana, Peruvian warts, Oroya fever, Carrion’s disease Spanish (Español): enfermedad de Carrión, fiebre de la Oroya, verruga peruana Limited to Colombia, Ecuador and Peru, the disease is caused by a facultative intracellular bacterium called Bartonella Bacilliformis. It is transmitted through a sandfly bite. Treatment consists of antibiotics. It is characterized by an acute […]

Tuberculosis and the Skin (For professionals)

Monday, August 9th, 2010




Tuberculosis is an infection caused by a Mycobacterium called Mycobacterium Tuberculosis. It is a condition favoured by high population density, promiscuity (poverty, intravenous drug abusers, HIV) and the use of immunosuppressants (biologics, ciclosporine…). It is frequent in Sub-Saharan Africa, but new cases are a cause of concern, notably in China, Russia, South-East Asia and some […]

image description

Dermatologie dans les maladies infectieuses

Menu Dermatologie dans les maladies infectieuses

Dermatologie dans les maladies infectieuses – Table des matières

samedi, octobre 20th, 2012




La maladie de Carrion et la peau Le choléra et la peau La dengue et la peau La grippe (Influenza) et la peau La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) La malaria et la peau Schistosomiase (Bilharziose)et la peau La trypanosomiase africaine (Maladie du sommeil) et la peau La trypanosomiase américaine (Maladie de Chagas) et la peau […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Table des matières

mercredi, septembre 19th, 2012




Dermatologie dans les maladies infectieuses – Table des matières La lèpre (maladie de Hansen): Introduction Etiologie: (Mycobacterium leprae) et la transmission de la lèpre La maladie et son classement Caractéristiques cliniques Diagnostic Complications Traitement

Schistosomiase (Bilharziose) et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

lundi, août 16th, 2010




Synomymes: bilharziosis. Elle est provoquée par un trématode (ver plat) de la famille du genre Schistosomia. C’est une maladie fréquente en Afrique, Asie et Amérique du Sud, là où des lacs contenant des escargots d’eau douce sont présents. Les enfants jouant dans ces eaux sont les premières victimes. Les symptômes et signes de cette infection […]

La trypanosomiase africaine (Maladie du sommeil) et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, août 15th, 2010




Elle est due à un protise (parasites) et est transmise par la mouche Tsétsé (transmission aussi possible de la mère au bébé et par transfusion sanguine). Près de 60000 individus (principalement en Afrique Sub-Saharienne) sont infectés. Un traitement est disponible. La maladie comporte deux stades appelés phase hémolymphatique et phase neurologique. La phase hémolymphatique se […]

La trypanosomiase américaine (Maladie de Chagas) et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

samedi, août 14th, 2010




Synonymes: Maladie de Chagas, Portugais (Português) Chagas Disease, Portugueuse: doença de Chagas, barbeiro. Espagnol (Español): enfermedad de Chagas-Mazza, mal de Chagas, vinchuca, pito, chinche, chipo, chupança, chinchorro. Aussi appélee maladie de Chagas, il s’agit d’une infection par un protozoaire transmis par une morsure avec un insecte (triatomine, « kissing bugs »). Elle sévit sur une étendue géographique […]

Le choléra et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, août 13th, 2010




Le choléra est une maladie infectieuse provoquée par la consommation de nourriture ou d’eau contaminée par la bactérie Vibrio Cholerae. Jusqu’à 150000 personnes sont infectées chaque année, et 90% des cas sont en Afrique. L’infection mène à des diarrhées profuses claires ce qui peut induire une déshydratation sévère et la mort. Le traitement est techniquement […]

La dengue et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, août 12th, 2010




Jusqu’à 100 millions de personnes pourraient être infectées par le virus de la dengue chaque année. Le virus est transmis à travers de piqûres d’arthropodes (généralement des moustiques). L’augmentation de la population rend le contrôle de la population des moustiques difficilement contrôlables car les sites de reproduction (eaux stagnantes) sont plus nombreux et plus difficilement […]

L’infection par le virus du VIH/SIDA et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, août 11th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Le VIH est une pandémie mondiale provoquée par le virus du VIH. Il touche plus de 30 millions de personnes dans le monde. Environ 70% des personnes infectées vivent en Afrique Sub-Saharienne et 20% en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est. Sans traitement la survie médiane est de […]

La maladie de Carrion et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

mardi, août 10th, 2010




Synonymes: Verruga peruana, verrues péruviennes, fièvre d’Oroya, maladie de Carrion Espagnol (Español): enfermedad de Carrión, fiebre de la Oroya, verruga peruana Limitée à la Colombie, l’Equateur et le Pérou. La maladie est provoquée par une bactérie intracellulaire facultative appelée Bartonella Bacilliformis. Elle est transmise par piqûre de phlébotome. Le traitement se fait par administration d’antibiotiques. […]

La tuberculose et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

lundi, août 9th, 2010




La tuberculose est une infection causée par une mycobactérie appelée Mycobacterium Tuberculosis. Il s’agit d’une affection favorisée par une haute densité de population, la promiscuité (pauvreté, toxicomanes utilisant des drogues dure (par injection), infections par le VIH) et l’usage d’agents immunosuppresseurs (biologiques, cyclosporine…). Elle est fréquente en Afrique Sub-Saharienne, mais la présence de nouveaux cas […]

image description