Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy)

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Table of Contents

Wednesday, September 19th, 2012




Dermatology in Infectious Diseases – Table of Contents Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy): Introduction Etiology: Mycobacterium leprae and its transmission The disease and its classification Clinical features Diagnostic tests Complications Treatment

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Treatment (For professionals)

Friday, June 11th, 2010




I. Anti-leprosy treatments Modern treatment for leprosy was introduced in 1941 when dapsone and its derivatives were used. Prior to that, the segregation of patients in a leprosarium by law was intended to prevent the spread of leprosy to the community. With effective chemotherapy, leprosy is curable today and treatment is undertaken by the general […]

Hansen’ Disease (Leprosy) – Complications (For Professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




The importance of leprosy lies in its ability to cause permanent disabilities from damage to nerves and eyes. Nerve damage can be due to granulomatous lesions that result in fibrosis, during reactions when severe inflammation results in nerve destruction and from ischaemia caused by pressure on the vasa nervosa. . The residual nerve deficit that […]

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Diagnostic tests (For professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




Histological examination of the skin lesion and nerve for the typical histological changes and the presence of acid-fast bacilli is required for the definitive diagnosis of leprosy. All cases of leprosy should preferably be confirmed histologically as labeling a person with leprosy carries with it dire social and medical implications. Slit skin smear to detect […]

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Clinical features (For professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




Leprosy primarily affects the skin and nerves of humans. The lesions may be remarkably asymptomatic even after years of existence. However, some patients develop reactions resulting in painful cutaneous lesions accompanied by fever, malaise and other symptoms. Most frequently the first signs develop on the skin, even though the nerve is always involved simultaneously. In […]

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – The disease and its classification (For professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




The type of disease developed is partially linked to the HLA genes: HLA DR2 and HLA DR3 predispose to tuberculoid disease and HLA–Mt1 to lepromatous disease. Environmental factors such as poor nutrition and poor sanitation play a role through altered immunity in a yet ill-understood mechanism. Human disease results from formation of granulomas in the […]

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy): Etiology: Mycobacterium leprae and its transmission (For Professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




Mycobacterium leprae is the cause of leprosy – the organism being first discovered by Armauer Hansen in 1873. The infected human being is considered to be the only source of infection. Although 4% of the nine-banded armadillo in the USA have naturally acquired leprosy-like disease, only a handful of the spread from the armadillo to […]

Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy) – Introduction (For professionals)

Thursday, June 10th, 2010




Leprosy has struck fear into human beings for thousands of years. Since ancient times, leprosy has been regarded as a highly contagious, mutilating and incurable disease and this has led to an intense negative reaction from the community – many of whom dread the people afflicted with leprosy more than the disease itself. However, with […]

image description

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen)

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Table des matières

mercredi, septembre 19th, 2012




Dermatologie dans les maladies infectieuses – Table des matières La lèpre (maladie de Hansen): Introduction Etiologie: (Mycobacterium leprae) et la transmission de la lèpre La maladie et son classement Caractéristiques cliniques Diagnostic Complications Traitement

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Traitement (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, juin 11th, 2010




I. Traitements spécifiquement contre la lèpre Le traitement moderne de la lèpre fût introduit en 1941, quand la dapsone et ses dérivés ont commencé à être utilisés. Avant cela, la ségrégation des patients dans une léproserie imposés par la loi visait à empêcher la propagation de la lèpre à la communauté. Avec une chimiothérapie efficace, […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Complications (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




L’importance de la lèpre est qu’elle peut occasionner des dégâts permanents neurologiques et ophtalmiques. Les lésions nerveuses peuvent être dues à des lésions granulomateuses qui aboutissent à la fibrose, à l’issue d’inflammations sévères aboutissant  à une destruction nerf (par pression sur les vasa nervosa). Le déficit du nerf résiduel persistant après la maladie entraine sur […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Diagnostic (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




L’examen histologique de la lésion de la peau et des nerfs à la recherche de modifications histologiques typiques et la présence de bacilles acido-résistants est nécessaire pour le diagnostic définitif de la lèpre. Tous les cas de lèpre devraient de préférence être confirmées histologiquement étant donné que le diagnostic de la lèpre comporte des implications […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Caractéristiques cliniques (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




La lèpre touche principalement la peau et les nerfs. Les lésions peuvent être asymptomatiques même après des années d’existence. Cependant, certains patients développent des réactions résultant en des lésions cutanées douloureuses accompagnées de fièvre, de malaises et autres symptômes. Le plus souvent les premiers signes se développent sur la peau, même si le nerf est […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – La maladie et son classement (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




Le type de maladie développé dépend en partie des gènes HLA: HLA DR2 et HLA DR3 prédisposent à la forme tuberculoïde et HLA-MT1 à la forme lépromateuse. Les facteurs environnementaux tels qu’une mauvaise nutrition et une mauvaise hygiiène sanitaire jouent un rôle dans l’immunité diminuée. Le mécanisme exact est encore mal compris. La maladie se […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen): Etiologie: (Mycobacterium leprae) et la transmission de la lèpre (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




Mycobacterium leprae est la cause de la lèpre – l’organisme fût découvert par Armauer Hansen en 1873. Les humains infectés sont la seule source d’infection connue. Bien que l’armadillo à neuf bandes soit la cause documentée de 4% des cas de lèpre aux Etats-Unis, une poignée seulement des cas ont été confirmés. Le bacille de […]

La lèpre (maladie de Hansen) – Introduction (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, juin 10th, 2010




La lèpre fait peur depuis des milliers d’années. Depuis l’Antiquité, la lèpre a été considérée comme une maladie très contagieuse, mutilante et incurable. La société a progressivement appris à redouter davantage les personnes atteintes de la lèpre que la maladie elle-même. Cependant, avec l’avènement des médicaments qui peuvent guérir la lèpre, l’image sociale de la […]

image description