Dermatology in Systemic Disease

Menu Dermatology in Systemic Disease

Dermatology in Systemic Disease – Table of Contents

Wednesday, November 5th, 2014




Iron Deficiency Anemia (Anaemia) And The Skin Skin lesions in Crohn’s disease (2) Dermatomyositis Mesothelioma and the Skin Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin Skin Manifestations of Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) Photosensitivity Morphea (Localized Scleroderma)

Skin Manifestations of Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) (For Professionals)

Wednesday, October 1st, 2014




One of the autoimmune systemic diseases which have extensive skin manifestations is mixed connective tissue disease or MCTD. This disorder is a combination of other autoimmune diseases such as lupus erythematosus, systemic sclerosis and polymyositis. The cause of this disorder is not completely known but is stipulated to be an effect of one’s immune system […]

Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin (For Professionals)

Friday, August 1st, 2014




Metabolic Syndrome and the Skin (For Professionals) Metabolic syndrome is also known as metabolic syndrome X, cardiometabolic syndrome, syndrome X, insulin resistance syndrome, Reaven’s syndrome (named for Gerald Reaven), and CHAOS (in Australia). It affects 24% of the adults in the US, with the highest prevalence being in individuals 60 through 69 years of age […]

Photosensitivity (For Professionals)

Thursday, May 1st, 2014




If you are sensitive to sunlight, you may have a condition known as photosensitivity. Photosensitivity is often defined as the amount to which a person reacts upon receiving light. There are many conditions which can give rise to sensitivity of the skin to a light source. It is said that people with particular skin types […]

Dermatomyositis (For Professionals)

Friday, March 1st, 2013




Dermatomyositis is is a type of inflammatory disease characterized by muscle weakness and a distinctive skin rash. Epidemiology Dermatomyositis is a condition which affects both adults and children. In adults, dermatomyositis usually occurs from the late 40s to early 60s, while in children, the disease most often appears between 5 and 15 years of age. […]

Skin Manifestations of Crohn’s Disease (For Profesionals)

Sunday, January 27th, 2013




Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) may manifest itself in the skin. One such IBD is Crohn’s disease. This IBD affects the gut anywhere from the mouth to the anus and results to gut obstruction and painful diarrhea. There may also be fever, constipation, weight loss, and painful joints due to inflammation brought about by triggers. However, […]

Mesothelioma and the Skin – Table of Contents

Monday, October 1st, 2012




Dermatology in Systemic Disease – Table of Contents An Introduction Mesothelioma can initially be Diagnosed on Skin Lesions Mesothelioma Induced Skin Lesions Metastases Diagnostic and Therapeutical Creation of of Skin Lesions (Through Medical Procedures)

Skin Manifestations in Anaphylaxis (For Professionals)

Wednesday, May 16th, 2012




Anaphylaxis is a severe form of allergic reaction to certain substances such as food, drugs, insect stings and others. These substances serve as stimuli which attract certain antibodies in the body known as IgE antibodies. These IgE antibodies are bound to mast cells in the skin. These mast cells release chemicals that are disseminated in […]

Morphea (Localized Scleroderma) (For Professionals)

Wednesday, March 28th, 2012




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Morphea is a disorder which is characterized by thickened skin lesions. This disorder results when there is excessive collagen deposition in the deeper part of the skin called the dermis and the fatty subcutaneous tissues of the skin. This skin disorder if often classified as generalized, plaque, or […]

Iron Deficiency Anemia (Anaemia) And The Skin (For Professionals)

Friday, July 15th, 2011




Iron Deficiency Anemia (Anaemia) And The Skin (For Professionals) Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Anemia is one of the most common health problems in the world today. This condition, where the blood has a lower than normal number of red blood cells, is due to a variety of causes, among which is the […]

image description

Dermatologie dans les maladies systémiques

Menu Dermatologie dans les maladies systémiques

Dermatologie dans les maladies systémiques – Table des matières

mercredi, novembre 5th, 2014




Manifestations cutanées des connectivites mixtes (ou connectivite mixte) (CM) (Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD)) Les lésions cutanées dans la maladie de Crohn (2) Dermatomyosite Manifestations cutanées de l’anémie ferriprive (déficit en fer)  Le mésothéliome et la peau Le Syndrome métabolique et la peau La morphée (Sclérodermie Localisée) La photosensibilité

Manifestations cutanées des connectivites mixtes (ou connectivite mixte) (CM) (Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD)) (Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, octobre 1st, 2014




Une des maladies autoimmunes avec des attteintes cutanees extensives sont les connectivite(s) mixte(s) (CM). Ce groupe de maladie est une combinaison d’autres maladies autoimmunes comme le lupus erythémateux , la sclérodermie systémique et la polymyosite. La cause de la CM n’est pas complètement élucidée mais on pense qu’il s’agit du résultat de l’attaque par son […]

Syndrome métabolique et la peau (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, août 1st, 2014




Le syndrome métabolique est également connu sous les noms suivants: le syndrome métabolique X, le syndrome cardiométabolique, le syndrome X, syndrome d’insulinorésistance, le syndrome de Reaven (du nom de Gerald Reaven), et le CHAOS (en Australie). Il affecte 24% des adultes aux Etats-Unis, avec la prévalence la plus élevée étant chez les individus 60 à […]

La photosensibilité (Pour les professionnels)

jeudi, mai 1st, 2014




Si vous êtes sensibles à la lumière, vous pourriez etre atteints de photosensibilité. La photosensibilité se définit comme une réaction cutanée lorsque celle-ci est exposée à une quantité plus faible de lumière. Il existe plusieurs affections qui peuvent rendre la peau sensible à une source de lumière. On dit que certaines personnes avec des peaux […]

Dermatomyosite (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, mars 1st, 2013




La dermatomyosite est un type de maladie inflammatoire de la peau qui se caractérise par une inflammation des muscles (myosite) et des lésions cutanées caractéristiques. Epidémiologie La dermatomyosite est une affection qui touche à la fois les adultes et les enfants. Chez les adultes, la dermatomyosite se produit généralement entre 40 et 60 ans: alors […]

Manifestations cutanées de la maladie de Crohn (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, janvier 27th, 2013




La maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (Inflammatory Bowel Disease en anglais (IBD)) peut avoir des manifestations sur la peau. La maladie de Crohn qui est une forme d’IBD peut affecter le tube digestif de la bouche à l’anus et résulte en une occlusion ainsi que des diarrhées douloureuses. Il peut aussi y avoir fièvre, constipation, perte […]

Le mésothéliome et la peau – Table des matières

lundi, octobre 1st, 2012




Dermatologie dans les maladies systémiques – Table des matières Une introduction Le diagnostic peut être fait sur des lésions cutanées Lésions cutanées induites par le mésothéliome Métastases Induction de lésions cutanées par des méthodes diagnostiques et thérapeutiques

Manifestations cutanées de l’anaphylaxie (choc anaphylactique) (Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, mai 16th, 2012




L’anaphylaxie est une forme sévère de réaction allergique à certaines substances commes des aliments, des médicaments, des pȋqures d’insectes…Ces substances servent de stimulants qui attirent des anticorps particuliers, les IgE. Ces anticorps IgE sont liés à des cellules appelées mastocytes dans la peau. Ces mastocytes relâchent des substances chimiques (dont l’histamine) ce qui provoque des […]

Morphée (Sclérodermie Localisée) (Pour les professionnels)

mercredi, mars 28th, 2012




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse La morphée est une maladie qui est caractérisée par des lésions cutanées épaissies. Cette maladie apparaȋt quand il y a la déposition excessive de collagène dans la peau, plus exactement au niveau du derme et l’hypoderme (tissu sous-cutané). Cette dermatose est classifiée souvent en formes généralisées, en plaques, […]

Manifestations cutanées de l’anémie ferriprive (déficit en fer) (Pour les professionnels)

vendredi, juillet 15th, 2011




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse. L’anémie est un des problèmes les plus courants. Cette affection, où le sang contient moins de globules rouges que la normale, est provoquée par une variété de causes, dont une est la production insuffisante d’hémoglobine par le corps. Cela est du le plus souvent à un déficit en […]

image description