Seborrhoeic Keratosis (seborrheic keratosis)(seborrheic warts)(age spots)

Seborrheic Keratosis – Table of Contents (For Professionals)

Monday, October 15th, 2012




Table of Contents (For Professionals) Seborrheic keratosis=SK Introduction -Historical Features -Epidemiology Clinical Features -Clinical Presentation -Differential diagnosis on clinical grounds Dermatoscopical Features -Differential Diagnosis on dermoscopical grounds Histological Features Association of SK with systemic disease Etiology -Origin of SK follicular epithelium solar lentigo -Causal factors Uv exposure HPV infection (Human papillomavirus)) deficiency in presenilin vitamin […]

Introduction (For Professionals)

Friday, October 12th, 2012




Seborrheic keratosis (SK) is a benign epidermal neoplasm which presents as an eruption of one to hundreds of  papules or plaques. The major potential burden for the patient is a cosmetic nuisance, but a florid acute appearance of SK lesions can rarely be associated with an internal neoplasm {Vielhauer, 2000; Heaphy, 2000; Grob, 1991}. Sometimes, […]

Clinical Features (For Professionals)

Thursday, October 11th, 2012




Clinical Features (For Professionals) Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Clinical Presentation Usually, the diagnosis is straightforward. Histology is needed in doubtful cases. {Pierson, 2003}SKs have many ways of presenting, they can appear as macules, papules or plaques which are normally sharply demarcated from the surrounding normal skin.  They are generally brown in colour […]

Dermoscopical Features (dermatoscopy) (For Professionals)

Tuesday, October 9th, 2012




Seborrheic Keratosis = SK Cerebriform like appearance and milia-like cysts Dermoscopical Features (dermatoscopy) (For Professionals) – Hairpin vessels are long capillary rings which develop at the periphery of keratinising tumours {Kreusch, 1996}. Typically, many vessels bunch together and are surrounded with a white halo, thus giving a grape-like appearance {Braun, 2002}. This characteristic is more […]

Histological Features (Histology) (For professionals)

Monday, October 8th, 2012




Histological Features (Histology) (For professionals) Seborrhoeic keratosis=SK In case of diagnostic doubt, a shave biopsy ought to be done. SK are benign epithelial tumours which are part of the group of acanthomas {Brownstein, 1985}. SK is postulated to be of follicular keratinocytic origin {Mehregan, 1964; Degos, 1968}, and can show an exophytic (upwards)  sometimes endophytic […]

Association with Internal Diseases (For Professionals)

Sunday, October 7th, 2012




Association with Internal Diseases (For Professionals) The rapid apparition of SK mostly when it is associated with acanthosis nigricans (35% of patients) and especially pruritus{Holdiness, 1988} should raise the suspicion about an internal malignancy. There is a big polemic about the existence of this rare sign called Leser-Trélat. The information concerning this sign is shown […]

Etiology (For Professionals)

Saturday, October 6th, 2012




Etiology (For Professionals) The origin and cause of SK is to the best of our knowledge unknown and what follows below is a list of proposed hypotheses. Origin of SK Hair follicle epithelium Whatever, the triggers and mechanisms of pathogenesis of seborrheic keratosis, they seem to develop from the follicular epithelium.This hypothesis come from the […]

Mechanisms of Growth (Hypothesis) (For Professionals)

Friday, October 5th, 2012




Mechanisms of Growth (Hypothesis) (For Professionals) Two schools of thought exist, one states that SK develops from an accumulation of senescent cells, whereas the other states that cells hyperproliferate. Ki-67 is a marker of proliferation that links itself to the Dense Fibrillary Component of the nucleolus (reference). We used ki-67 marking of SK to try […]

Treatment (For Professionals)

Thursday, October 4th, 2012




Treatment (For Professionals) How is seborrheic keratosis amenable to treatment? Here follows a description some of the available and tried treatments and then a criticism of the methodology of all applied treatments follows: 1. Actual Guidelines According to Dubertret et al.( Thérapeutique dermatologique). the following treaments are recommended: – Cryotherapy with liquid nitrogen {Kee, 1967} […]

image description

Les kératoses séborrhéiques (verrues séborréiques)(verrues séniles)(taches de vieillesse)

Les kératoses séborrhéiques – Table des matières (pour les professionnels)

lundi, octobre 15th, 2012




Kératose séborrhéique=KS Introduction -Historique -Epidémiologie Caractéristiques cliniques -Présentation clinique -Diagnostic différentiel clinique Caractéristiques dermatoscopiques (dermoscopiques) -Diagnostic différentiel dermatoscopique Caractéristiques histologiques (Histologie) Association de KS avec les maladies internes Etiologie (en anglais) -Origine de KS épithelium folliculaire lentigos solaires -Facteurs causaux Exposition aux UV Infection par l’HPV (Human Papillomavirus) Déficit en préséniline Déficit (ou excès) en […]

Introduction (pour les professionnels)

vendredi, octobre 12th, 2012




Les Kératoses séborrhéiques (KS) sont des tumeurs bénignes épidermiques qui se présentent comme une éruption d’une jusqu’à des centaines de papules ou de plaques. La gène parfois importante pour le patient est principalement esthétique, mais une eflorescence floride aiguë de KS  peut rarement être associée à une tumeur interne (Vielhauer, 2000; Heaphy, 2000; Grob, 1991). […]

Caractéristiques cliniques (pour les professionnels)

jeudi, octobre 11th, 2012




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse KS=kératose séborrhéique Présentation clinique Normalement, le diagnostic est aisé. Dans le doute, un examen histologique est nécessaire. {Pierson, 2003}Les KS peuvent se présenter de multiples manières; en tant que macules, papules ou plaques; les lésions sont en général bien démarquées de la peau saine avoisinante. Elles sont généralement […]

Caractéristiques dermatoscopiques (dermoscopiques) (pour les professionnels)

mardi, octobre 9th, 2012




Kératose séborrhéique=KS Aspect cérébriforme et kystes cornés (milia-like cysts) -Les vaisseaux en épingle à cheveux sont des anneaux capillaires alongés qui se dévéloppent à la périphérie des tumeurs kératinisantes {Kreusch, 1996}. Typiquement, plusieurs vaisseaux s’agglomèrent et sont entourés par un halo blanc, prenant l’aspect d’un grappe de raisons {Braun, 2002}. Ceci est plus fréquent dans […]

Caractéristiques histologiques (Histologie)(pour les professionnels)

lundi, octobre 8th, 2012




Kératose séborrhéique=KS En cas de doute diagnostic, une biopsie tangentielle (shave) devrait être effectuée. Les KS sont des tumeurs épithéliales bénignes appartenant au groups des acanthomes {Brownstein, 1985}. Il est postulé que les KS sont d’origine folliculaire {Mehregan, 1964; Degos, 1968},et peuvent montrer une croissance soit exophytoque (vers l’extérieur), soit endophytique (comme pour les kératoses […]

Association avec des maladies internes (pour les professionnels)

dimanche, octobre 7th, 2012




L’apparition rapide de KS surtout quand elle est associée à un acanthosis nigricans (35% des patients) et surtout au prurit (Holdiness, 1988) devrait soulever la suspicion d’un cancer interne. Il ya une grande polémique sur l’existence de ce signe rare appelé signe de Leser-Trélat. Les informations concernant ce signe figurent ci-dessous. La coexistence de cancers […]

Traitements (pour les professionnels)

jeudi, octobre 4th, 2012




Comment traiter une Kératose séborrhéique (KS)? Voici une description de certains des traitements disponibles suivie par une critique de la méthodologie de tous les traitements appliqués: 1. Directives thérapeutiques actuelles Selon Dubertret et al. (Dermatologique Thérapeutique), les traitements suivants sont recommandés: – La cryothérapie à l’azote liquide (Kee, 1967) serait le traitement de premier choix. […]

image description