Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata)

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata) – Table of Contents

Tuesday, October 23rd, 2012




Introduction: a “beautiful” fungal infection Causes (Etiology) Geographical Distribution Clinical Presentation Diagnosis and Differential Diagnosis Treatment Bibliography

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): a “beautiful” fungal infection (For professionals)

Tuesday, August 17th, 2010




Synonyms Tinea Imbricata, Tokelau, Concentric tinea, Indian tinea, Chinese tinea, Scaly tinea, Elegant tinea, Lace tinea, Chimbéré, Gogo. Grillé, Cacapash, Shishiyotl, Roña. Introduction E. Wilson a prominent British dermatologist of the 19th century used to say that two kinds of skin were interesting: beautiful skin or a beautiful skin disease. Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata) is compatible […]

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Geographical Distribution (For professionals)

Sunday, May 16th, 2010




Geographical Distribution Tokelau refers to 3 atolls lying midway between Hawaii (Hawai) and New Zealand around 300Km to the North of Samoa. The population is around 1500 for a 12 sq. Km. surface. The isolation combined with the high humidity and density might explain in part the propensity of having this fungal infection. The condition […]

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Clinical Presentation (For professionals)

Sunday, May 2nd, 2010




Clinical Presentation The disease presents with rapid development of polymorphic and polycyclic patches. Little erythema is present but itching tends to be intense. The disease starts with brownish maculo-papules with a central detachment progressing towards the periphery. The free border is turned towards the  centre and a brownish edge leads the active edge. It can […]

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Diagnosis and Differential Diagnosis (For professionals)

Thursday, April 15th, 2010




Diagnosis and Differential Diagnosis Diagnosis is clinical and can be confirmed by scale scrapings and fungal culture. In acute presentation in can be confused with secondary syphilis, granuloma annulare and erythema annulare centrifugum. In chronic presentation it can look like ichtyosis and erythema gyratum repens. Bibliography

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Causes (Etiology)

Friday, April 2nd, 2010




Causes The condition is caused by a strictly anthropophilic dermatophyte called tinea concentricum. Transmission is incompletely understood. Close contact is important but not enough and genetic (mode of inheritance mainly autosomal recessive (“pure race”) with a few autosomal dominant cases), environmental (poor hygiene, iron deficiency, malnutrition) and immunological factors play an important role. Bibiography

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Treatment (For professionals)

Monday, March 15th, 2010




Treatment Combination of an oral antifungal (griseofulvin, terbinafine. Itrconazole and fluconazole are ineffective) with a topical keratolytic. Recurrence rates are very high. Bibiography

Tokelau (Tinea Imbricata): Bibliography (For professionals)

Monday, March 1st, 2010




A case of tinea imbricata (Hanumarn ringworm) treated with fulcin. Chermsirivathana S, Boonsri P. Aust J Dermatol. 1961 Jun;6:63-6. Endemic tinea imbricata–a study on Goodenough Island, Papua New Guinea. Hay RJ, Reid S, Talwat E, Macnamara K. Trans R Soc Trop Med Hyg. 1984;78(2):246-51. Revista de la Sociedad Venezolanade Microbiología:  www.scielo.org.ve Tinea imbricata or Tokelau. […]

image description

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée)

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée) – Table des matières

mardi, octobre 23rd, 2012




Introduction: une infection dermatophytique « magnifique » Causes (étiologie) Distribution géographique Présentation clinique Diagnostic et diagnostic différentiel  Traitement Bibliographie

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): une infection dermatophytique « magnifique » (Pour les professionnels)

mardi, août 17th, 2010




Synonymes Dermatophytose imbriquee, Tokelau, Dermatophytose concentrique, Dermatophytose indienne, Dermatophytose chinoise, Dermatophytose squameuse, Dermatophytose elegante, Chimbéré, Gogo. Grillé, Cacapash, Shishiyotl, Roña. Introduction E.Wilson, un dermatologue britannique célèbre du 19e siècle disait que deux sortes de peau étaient intéressantes, une peau magnifique ou une magnifique maladie de peau. Le tokelau (ou dermatophytose imbriquée) répond à ce critere. […]

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): distribution géographique (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, mai 16th, 2010




Distribution géographique Tokelau est le nom de trois atolls situés à mi-chemin entre Hawaï (Hawaii) et la Nouvelle-Zélande, à 300Km au Nord des îles Samoa. Le nombre d’habitants est d’environ 1500 vivant sur une surface de 12 Km2. L’isolation, l’humidité ainsi que la densite peuvent expliquer en partie le risque d’attraper cette mycose. L’affection est […]

Tokelau (Dermatophytose Imbriquée): présentation clinique (Pour les professionnels)

dimanche, mai 2nd, 2010




Présentation clinique L’affection se caracterise par le developpement rapide de taches polymorphes et polycycliques. Un faible erythème est present alors que le prurit tend à être intense. La dermatose se presente initialement comme des maculo-papules brunâtres avec un détachement central qui progresse ensuite vers la périphérie. Le bord libre est du côté du centre de […]

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): Diagnostic et diagnostic différentiel (Pour les professionels)

jeudi, avril 15th, 2010




Diagnostic et diagnostic differentiel Le diagnostic est clinique et peut être confirmé par examen direct ou culture mycologique des squames. Dans sa présentation aiguë, l’affection peut simuler un granulome annulaire, une syphilis secondaire et un erythème annulaire centrifuge. Dans sa présentation chronique, l’affection peut ressembler a une ichtyose ou un erythema gyratum repens. Bibliographie

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): Causes (étiologie)

vendredi, avril 2nd, 2010




Causes La dermatose est provoquée par un dermatophyte contaminant l’homme uniquement appele tinea concentricum. Le mode de transmission n’est pas complètement compris. Un contact rapproché prolongé est important mais néanmois pas suffisant et des facteurs génétique (hérédité principalement autosomique recessive (transmission entre individus de « pure race ») avec quelques cas de transmission autosomique dominante), environnementale (mauvaise […]

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): Traitement (Pour les professionnels)

lundi, mars 15th, 2010




Traitement Une combinaison d’antifongiques oraux (griséofulvine, terbinafine. Itrconazole et fluconazole sont inefficaces) avec un kératolytique topique. Le taux de récidive demeure néanmoins élevé. Bibiographie

Tokelau (Dermatophytose imbriquée): Bibliographie (Pour les professionels)

lundi, mars 1st, 2010




A case of tinea imbricata (Hanumarn ringworm) treated with fulcin. Chermsirivathana S, Boonsri P. Aust J Dermatol. 1961 Jun;6:63-6. Endemic tinea imbricata–a study on Goodenough Island, Papua New Guinea. Hay RJ, Reid S, Talwat E, Macnamara K. Trans R Soc Trop Med Hyg. 1984;78(2):246-51. Revista de la Sociedad Venezolanade Microbiología:  www.scielo.org.ve Tinea imbricata or Tokelau. […]

image description