Section : Pigmentation, Hyperpigmentation and Solutions

DERMACATCH – The latest advancement in skin colour measurement

Precise skin color (colour) measurement is of the utmost importance for researchers as well as clinicians involved in the field of skin pigmentation. Skin colorimetry has proved to be a delicate and rather complex issue.  This complexity results from several facts:

  • Skin erythema, which readily changes due to internal or external factors, can highly interfere with the precise measurement of skin pigmentation. The desirable skin colorimeter should remain specific for melanin measurement in the case of modifications in skin erythema and vice versa. This is one of the most important challenges in skin colorimetry.
  • Skin erythema (redness of the skin) can readily vary according to the pressure applied to the skin surface by the colorimetric device. Since the pressure applied by the user can significantly vary in different measurements, it can significantly interfere with the reproducibility of erythema values, which, in turn, falsely affect the melanin values.
  • According to the measurement method, environmental temperature and light can affect the measurement results.

DERMACATCH is the latest colorimetric advancement aimed to resolve the above mentioned challenging issues:

  • Due to its coverage of  the complete visible light spectrum and due to its different calculation method for pigmentation and erythema, DERMACATCH remains highly specific for melanin quantification even in the case of significant increase in the level of skin erythema.
  • The high distinguishing capacity of DERMACATCH between erythema vs. melanin, causes the melanin measurements to remain highly reproducible even in the case of changes in the pressure applied to the skin surface by the user.  On the other hand, the design of the optical orifice of DERMACATCH which permits the minimum surface-to-surface contact of the optical part with the skin, reduces the chance of skin blanching due to pressure.
  • Environmental light and temperature do not affect the melanin and erythema values measured by DERMACATCH.
  • DERMACATCH instantly provides the Melanin and Erythema values and can serve as a highly precise, hand-held colorimeter for skin pigmentation professionals.         

To learn more about Dermacatch, click here.


Category : chercheurs - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : clinicians - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : cliniciens - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : colorimeter - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : colorimétrie - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : Dermacatch - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : érythème cutané - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : measurement of skin colour - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : mesure de la couleur de la peau - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : pigmentation - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : scientists - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : skin erythema - Modifie le 08.29.2012

Section : Pigmentation, hyperpigmentation et ses solutions

DERMACATCH – Le dernier arrivé dans la mesure de la couleur de la peau

La mesure précise de la couleur de la peau est de la plus grande importance pour les chercheurs et les cliniciens travaillant dans le domaine de la pigmentation. La colorimétrie cutanée s’est révélée être une science assez complexe. Cette complexite provient de plusieurs faits:

  • L’érythème cutané change en fonction de facteurs internes et externes peuvent interférer avec la mesure précise de la pigmentation cutanée. Le colorimètre devrait demeurer spécifique dans la mesure de la quantité de mélanine tout en tenant compte de modifications de l’érythème cutané (et inversement). Ceci est un des plus grand défis la colorimétrie.
  • L’érythème cutané peut varier en fonction de la pression qu’on applique sur la peau quand on utilise un colorimètre. Ceci peut influencer de manière notoire la reproductibilité des mesures car la variation de la mesure de l’érythème cutané affecte ensuite forcément les valeurs mesurées de la mélanine.
  • Les valeurs mesurées dépendent de trois facteurs: la méthode de mesure, la temperature ambiente et la luminosité.

DERMACATCH est le dernier appareil sorti et il tient compte des derniers progrès dans la colorimétrie. Il vise a resoudre les problèmes juste mentionnés:

  • Grace à sa couverture complète de toute la lumière visible et en raison de sa différente méthode de calcul pour la pigmentation et l’érythème (rougeur de la peau), le DERMACATCH est hautement spécifique dans la quantification de la mélanine car il tient compte du degré d’érythème cutané.
  • La haute capacité du DERMACATCH à distinguer l’érythème de la mélanine, permet la mesure reproductible de la quantité de mélanine même en cas de variation de la pression appliquée sur la peau (faisant varier l’erythème). De plus, la faible surface de contact (entre l’aperture optique et la peau), diminue le risque de blanchiment cutané provoqué par la pression.
  • La lumière environnementale et la temperature n’affectent pas les valeurs mesurées (et pour la mélanine et l’erythème) par le DERMACATCH.
  • Le DERMACATCH fournit instantanément les valeurs mesurées de la mélanine et de l’erythème et peut donc servir d’un instrument de mesure portable pour les professionnels de la pigmentation cutanée.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Dermacatch, cliquez ici.


Category : chercheurs - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : clinicians - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : cliniciens - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : colorimeter - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : colorimétrie - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : Dermacatch - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : érythème cutané - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : measurement of skin colour - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : mesure de la couleur de la peau - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : pigmentation - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : scientists - Modifie le 08.29.2012Category : skin erythema - Modifie le 08.29.2012