Pigmentation, Hyperpigmentation and Solutions

Menu Pigmentation, Hyperpigmentation and Solutions

Rhododenol

Tuesday, July 30th, 2013




Rhododenol is also called 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanol. It is manufactured by Kanebo cosmetics and has been on the market since 2008. It is naturally produced and has been approved for the management of pigmentary problems (Melasma, Sun spots, Lentigo…) It is a phenolic compound therefore it is potentially melanocytoxic. It acts by reducing the activity of tyrosinase […]

Skin colour measurement

Wednesday, August 29th, 2012




A few devices exist for the measurement of skin colour. These devices are generally called skin colorimeters. The most well-known existing colorimeters are Chromameter, Mexameter, and the newly developed device DermaCatch. Skin colorimeters are usually equipped with a handpiece which is put on the desired area of the skin and emits certain wavelenghts on the […]

DERMACATCH – The latest advancement in skin colour measurement

Wednesday, August 29th, 2012




Precise skin color (colour) measurement is of the utmost importance for researchers as well as clinicians involved in the field of skin pigmentation. Skin colorimetry has proved to be a delicate and rather complex issue.  This complexity results from several facts: Skin erythema, which readily changes due to internal or external factors, can highly interfere […]

Kojic acid

Wednesday, March 21st, 2012




Kojic acid It is a fungal metabolite which inhibits the enzyme tyrosinase. It binds to copper which becomes unusable by melanocytes. It is used at a concentration of 1% Its therapeutical effets are weak to moderate. Contributors: Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Bibliography: Katsambas A. Melasma: Pathogenesis and Treatment. 70th Annual Meeting of […]

Hydroquinone (HQ)

Wednesday, March 21st, 2012




Hydroquinone (HQ) Mechanism of action: hydroquinone inhibits activated tyrosinase activity (therefore it does not act on normal skin). A word on available concentrations: 2%: often ineffective 3-5%: good bleaching agent 6-10%: higher concentrations can cause irritation Side effects: Contact dermatitis (Both Allergic and Irritant) Nail Discoloration Exogenous Ochrnosis can rarely occur in dark skin individuals […]

L-ascorbic acid (Vitamin C)

Tuesday, March 20th, 2012




L-ascorbic acid (Vitamin C) Is an antioxidant Is used in the treatment of disorders of pigmentation including melasma (chloasma) (pregnancy mask) Alters the color of melanin from jet black to light tan Unstable as quickly oxidized Bibliography: Katsambas A (Conflicts of Interest: Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Leo Pharma, Merck, Schering-Plough). Melasma: Pathogenesis and Treatment. 70e Réunion annuelle […]

New Depigmenting substances

Monday, February 20th, 2012




New Depigmenting substances: N-acetyl glucosamine Artocarpanone 4-n-butylresorcinol (rucinol) Ursolic Acid Anthraquinones Cinnamic Acid Macelignan Gallic Acid Glycine Isopanduratin A and 4-Hydroxypanduratin A Kurarinol, Kurarinidol and Trifolirhizin Pycnogenol 8% topical indomethacin cream Selina dien-8-one Taxifolin DeoxyArbutin and its second generation derivatives Hydroperoxy Traxastane t; type Triterpene Piceatannol Handog E. Brown Spots: Melasma Updates.2012 (02) – 20th […]

Existing Depigmenting substances

Monday, February 20th, 2012




They act through: Tyrosinase Inhibition Inhibitors of Inflammation-induced Melanogenic Response Peroxidase inhibition Product Reduction and ROS (Radical Oxygen Scavengers)   Tyrosinase inhibition hydroquinone 4-hydroxyanisole 4-S-CAP and derivatives Arbutin Aloesin Azelaic Acid Kojic Acid Ellagic Acid Resveratrol Oxyeresveratrol Licorice Extract Lactic Acid   Inhibitors of Inflammation Induced Melanogenic Response Chamomille Corticosteroids Gliabridin Tranexamic Acid   Peroxidase […]

Pigmentation by Melanin and Skin Color (Colour)

Tuesday, November 16th, 2010




In humans, melanin pigments are responsible for the visible color of the skin, hair and eyes. Although the blood within the dermis and exogenous pigments as carotenoids may play a role in producing different skin hues, variations in skin pigmentation between different ethnic groups (namely Negroid, Asian and Caucasians) is primarily determined by the amount […]

4-Hydroxyanisole (4-OHA)

Monday, November 15th, 2010




4-OHA is a skin depigmenting agent with moderate efficacy and may be used for the treatment of hyperpigmentary disorders such as melasma and freckles. This agent decreases the number of melanin producing cells in the skin and can whiten the skin to a considerable degree. However, one should be aware of possible side effects such […]

image description

Pigmentation, hyperpigmentation et ses solutions

Menu Pigmentation, hyperpigmentation et ses solutions

Rhododénol

mardi, juillet 30th, 2013

Le Rhododénol est aussi appelé 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanol. Il est fabriqué par la marque de cosmétiques japonaise Kenebo est est sur le marché depuis 2008. Il est naturellement produit et est approuvé pour le soin de troubles hyperpigmentaires (Chloasma, Masque de Grossesse, Taches brunes, Lentigos Solaires) C’est un phénol donc il est potentiellement toxique aux cellules pigmentaires [...]

Mesure de la couleur de la peau

mercredi, août 29th, 2012

Quelques instruments existent pour mesurer le couleur de la peau. Ces appareils sont en général appelés colorimètres. Les colorimètres les plus connus s’appèlent Chromameter, Mexameter, et le récemment sorti, le DermaCatch. Les colorimètres sont généralement munis d’une partie portable qui est appliquée sur la peau à analyser et émet des longueurs d’ondes à la surface de la [...]

DERMACATCH – Le dernier arrivé dans la mesure de la couleur de la peau

mercredi, août 29th, 2012

La mesure précise de la couleur de la peau est de la plus grande importance pour les chercheurs et les cliniciens travaillant dans le domaine de la pigmentation. La colorimétrie cutanée s’est révélée être une science assez complexe. Cette complexite provient de plusieurs faits: L’érythème cutané change en fonction de facteurs internes et externes peuvent [...]

L’acide Kojique

mercredi, mars 21st, 2012

Acide Kojique Il s’agit d’un métabolite fongique qui inhibe la tyrosinase Se lie au cuivre qui devient non utilisable par les mélanocytes S’utilise à une concentration de 1% Effets thérapeutiques faibles à modérés Contributeurs: Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Bibliographie: Katsambas A (Conflits d’Intérêts: Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Leo Pharma, Merck, Schering-Plough). Melasma: Pathogenesis and [...]

L’hydroquinone (HQ)

mercredi, mars 21st, 2012

L’hydroquinone (HQ) Mécanisme d’action: l’hydroquinone inhibe l’activité de la tyrosinase active (elle n’agit donc pas sur la tyrosinase de la peau non atteinte) Un mot sur les concentrations disponibles: 2%: souvent inefficace 3-5%: bon effet blanchissant 6-10%: des plus hautes concentrations peuvent provoquer une irritation Effets secondaires: Dermatite de Contact (Tant bien Irritative qu’Allergique) Décoloration [...]

Acide ascorbique (Vitamine C) (L-ascorbic acid)

mardi, mars 20th, 2012

Acide ascorbique (Vitamine C) (L-ascorbic acid) Est un antioxydant Il est utilisé dans le traitement de troubles de la pigmentation dont le mélasma (chloasma) (masque de grossesse) Change la couleur de la mélanine de brun foncé à beige clair Instable car rapidement oxydée Pour en savoir plus sur une crème dépigmentante efficace et sans danger, [...]

Nouvelles substances dépigmentantes

lundi, février 20th, 2012

Nouvelles substances dépigmentantes: N-acétyl glucosamine Artocarpanone 4-n-butylrésorcinol (rucinol) Acide Ursolique Anthraquinones Acide Cinnamique Macelignan Acide Gallique Glycine Isopanduratine A and 4-Hydroxypanduratine A Kurarinol, Kurarinidol and Trifolirhizine Pycnogénol Indométhacine topique 8% Selina dien-8-one Taxifoline DeoxyArbutine et ses dérivés de seconde génération Hydroperoxy Traxastane t -type Triterpène Piceatannol Pour en savoir plus sur une crème dépigmentante efficace [...]

Substances dépigmentantes existantes

lundi, février 20th, 2012

Elles agissent selon les méchanismes suivants: Inhibition de la tyrosinase Inhibiteurs de la  réponse mélanogénique induites par inflammation Inhibition de la peroxidase Diminution de la génération de radicaux libres & ROS (Radical Oxygen Scavengers)   Inhibition de la tyrosinase hydroquinone 4 hydroxyanisole 4-S-CAP et ses dérivés Arbutine Aloesine Acide Azélaïque Acide Kojique Acide Ellagique Resvératrol [...]

Pigmentation par la mélanine et couleur de la peau

mardi, novembre 16th, 2010

Chez l’homme, les pigments de mélanine sont responsables de la couleur visible de la peau, des cheveux et des yeux. Bien que le sang dans le derme et pigments exogènes comme les caroténoïdes peuvent jouer un rôle dans la production des teintes de peau différente, la variation de pigmentation de la peau entre les différents [...]

4-Hydroxyanisole (4-OHA)

lundi, novembre 15th, 2010

4-OHA est un agent dépigmentant la peau avec une efficacité modérée et peut être utilisé pour le traitement des troubles de l’hyperpigmentation tels que le melasma (masque de grossesse) et les taches de rousseur (Ephélides). Cet agent diminue le nombre de cellules produisant la mélanine dans la peau et peut blanchir la peau à un [...]

image description