Sexually Transmitted Infections – STI

Vaginal Discharge

Thursday, April 15th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is a vaginal discharge? It is caused by vaginal secretions and its colour can be: transparent whitish yellowish greenish Is a vaginal discharge abnormal? No, physiologic vaginal discharge may occur. These are then due to secretions by cells located on the vaginal wall and the cervix. The […]

Hepatitis B

Wednesday, April 14th, 2010




What is hepatitis B? It  is an infection where the liver is inflamed due to an infection with the hepatitis B virus. There are many other viruses which may cause hepatitis (hepatitis A, hepatitis C, EBV, CMV…). How is hepatitis B transmitted? Sexual intercourse with an infected individual Transfusion of contaminated blood Infected mothers can […]

Crabs or pubic lice (pediculosis pubis)

Tuesday, April 13th, 2010




The infection is normally transmitted during sexual intercourse or when there is a close skin-to-skin contact. The adult mite which gives rise to pubic lice (phthirus pubis) (crabs) measures between 1 and 2 mm of diameter and appears on the skin of the pubis as grey of red-brown spots. As for the eggs, they are […]

Scabies

Monday, April 12th, 2010




What is scabies? Scabies is an infestation by a mite called sarcoptes scabiei. Transmission can occur while in close personal contact. In sexually active adults, transmission occurs often (but not only) sexually. Affected individuals can display small red itchy growths. These lesions are located on the genitalia or at other sites like the interdigital web […]

Molluscum Contagiosum

Sunday, April 11th, 2010




What is Molluscum Contagiosum? Contrary to children, molluscum contagiosum is often sexually transmitted. The lesions appear as smooth and shiny bumps with a central depression in their centre. Often the appearance alone is sufficient to diagnose this condition. The clinical diagnosis can be confirmed by microscopic examination of the material contained within the lesions. Treatment […]

Genital Warts (condyloma acuminata)

Saturday, April 10th, 2010




Genital Warts (condyloma acuminata) Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What are genital warts? It is a sexually transmitted infection located in the genital/anal area. It  is caused by an infection with the Human Papillomavirus (HPV). Warts located on the hands, feet and fingers are not sexually transmitted and are caused by other subtypes […]

Chancroid

Friday, April 9th, 2010




What is chancroid? It is a sexually transmitted infection caused by a bacteria called Haemophilus Ducreyi. The individual presents generally with painful ulcers, single or multiple overlying a “dirty” base. Some patients complain of painful swellings in the inguinal folds. The condition is diagnosed by demonstrating the organism through culture of the ulcer secretions. An […]

Genital Herpes

Thursday, April 8th, 2010




What is genital herpes? It is a sexually transmitted infected caused by the herpes simplex virus (HSV). There are 2 types of HSV: type I and type II. How do I catch genital herpes? Sexual intercourse with an infected individual An infected partner may not have noticeable erosions. Transmission from the mother to the child […]

Gonorrhoea

Wednesday, April 7th, 2010




Gonorrhoea Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is gonorrhoea? It is a sexually transmitted infection caused by Neisseria Gonorrhoeae. How is gonorrhoea transmitted? Sexual intercourse with an infected individual (vaginal, anal, oral). Mother to child transmission (when delivering through the birth canal. A casual social contact or “accidental contaminations” while sitting on the […]

HIV infection (“HIV positive”) and AIDS

Monday, April 5th, 2010




HIV infection (“HIV positive”) and AIDS Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland What is AIDS? AIDS stands for acquired immunodeficiency syndrome. It is the final stage of the infection of the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). How can I be infected with HIV? Non protected sexual intercourse with an infected individual Sharing of syringes and […]

image description

Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Pertes vaginales

jeudi, avril 15th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse. C’est quoi les pertes vaginales? Il s’agit de sécrétions vaginales présentes dans le vagin. Elles peuvent être: claires blanches jaunes vertes Est-ce toutes les pertes vaginales sont anormales? Non, il y a des pertes physiologiques normales (glaires). Il s’agit de sécrétions par des cellules de la paroi vaginale et […]

L’hépatite B

mercredi, avril 14th, 2010




Qu-est qu’une infection par l’hépatite B? C’est une affection où le foie est enflammé en raison d’une infection par la virus de l’hépatite B. Il existe beaucoup d’autres virus qui peuvent provoquer une hépatite (hépatite A, Hépatite C, EBV, CMV…). Comment attrape t-on l’hépatite B? Rapport sexuel avec une personne infectée Recevoir une transfusion de […]

Les morpions ou papillons d’amour (pediculosis pubis)

mardi, avril 13th, 2010




L’infection est normalement transmise par rapport sexuel ou un contact intime de peau à peau. La mite adulte responsable des morpions (phthirus pubis) mesure entre 1 et 2mm de diamètre et apparaît sur la peau du pubis comme des points gris ou rouge-bruns. Quant aux oeufs, ils sont fixés sur les poils pubiens. Les mites […]

La gale

lundi, avril 12th, 2010




Qu’est-ce que la gale? La gale est une infestation par une mite appelée sarcoptes scabiei. La transmission peut se faire lors de contacts personels rapprochés. Chez les adultes sexuellement actifs, la transmission se fait souvent (mais pas exclusivement) par voie sexuelle. Les individus affectés peuvent présenter de petites croissances rouges qui démangent. Ces lésions sont […]

Molluscum Contagiosum

dimanche, avril 11th, 2010




C’est quoi le Molluscum Contagiosum? Contrairement à chez l’enfant, le molluscum contagiosum est souvent transmis par rapport sexuel. Les lésions apparaissent comme des élevures lisses et brillantes ombiliquées en leur centre. Souvent cette apparence est suffisante pour poser le diagnostic. Le diagnostic des lésions peuvent être confirmé à l’aide d’un examen microscopique é partir du matériel […]

Condylomes acuminés (Verrues genitales)

samedi, avril 10th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse C’est quoi des verrues génitales (condylomes acuminés ou communément dénommé condylomes*) ? C’est une infection sexuellement transmissible localisée dans la région ano-génitale provoquée par le papillomavirus humain (PVH). Les verrues au niveau des mains, pieds et doigts ne sont pas des infections sexuellement transmissibles et sont provoquées par […]

Chancre mou (Chancroïde)

vendredi, avril 9th, 2010




Qu’est-ce que le chancre mou? Il s’agit d’une infection sexuellement transmissible causée par une bactérie (Haemophilus Ducreyi). Le patient se présente généralement avec des ulcères douloureux, unique ou multiples avec une base « sale ». Certains patients se plaignent de boules douloureuses dans les plis inguinaux. L’affection est diagnostiquée par une isolation de la bactérie par culture. […]

Herpès génital

jeudi, avril 8th, 2010




Qu’est-ce que l’herpès génital? Il s’agit d’une infection sexuellement transmissible provoquée par le virus herpes simplex (HSV). Il existe deux types de HSV: le type I et le type II. Comment attrape t-on l’herpès génital? Rapport sexuel avec une personne infectée Votre partenaire infecté peut ne pas avoir des érosions visibles. Transmission de la mère […]

La gonorrhée (« Chaude-pisse ») (Blénnoragie)

mercredi, avril 7th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Qu’est-ce que la gonorrhée? Il s’agit d’une infection sexuellement transmissible provoquée par la bactérie Neisseria Gonorrhoeae. Comment attrape t-on la gonorrhée? Rapport sexuel avec une personne infectée (vaginal, anal, oral) Transmission mère à enfant (accouchement par les voies naturelles) Un contact social normal ou des « contaminations accidentelles » par […]

Infection par le virus du VIH (séropositivité) et SIDA

lundi, avril 5th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse C’est quoi le SIDA? SIDA signifie syndrome d’immunodéfience acquise. Il s’agit du stade final provoquée par l’infection par le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH). Comment puis-je être infecté/infectée par le VIH? Rapport sexuel non-protégé avec une personne infectée. Partage de seringues et n’aiguilles infectées (par exemples entre deux […]

image description