Education

Menu Education

Prevention of Sexually Transmitted Infections (STI) (different than contraception)

Monday, June 7th, 2010




It is important to know the methods to avoid pregnancy (contraception). However, we wish to underline that despite all the contraceptive methods available, sexually transmitted infections (STI) can only be strongly diminished by the use of male and female condoms. How to prevent sexually transmitted infections (STI)? The ideal way is to have sexual relationships […]

How to avoid tick bites (prevention of Lyme disease (Borreliosis))

Sunday, June 6th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland It is pleasant to walk in forests once the weather becomes pleasant. However, it is a good idea to avoid insect bites, especially ticks. In forests throughout the world, but especially in Europe and North America, these insects may carry bacteria causing Lyme disease (Borreliosis). To avoid insect […]

How to examine moles on your own (self-examination of melanocytic navi (naevi))

Saturday, June 5th, 2010




We advise you to have your moles examined by a dermatologist, most especially if: you have more than 100 moles an individual in your family has had a melanoma you are 40 years old you have light-colored (coloured) (photoypes I and II) and/or blue, green eyes you get easily sunburnt you are worried We advise […]

Sunprotection

Thursday, June 3rd, 2010




The sun is our ally because it is an indirect source of vitamin D production and contributes to our psychological well-being. However, the sun is also dangerous and participates actively in the development of skin cancers, melanoma being one example. Accessorily (if it can be said so), it is responsible for accelerated skin aging (wrinkles, […]

Treatment of cellulite

Thursday, June 3rd, 2010




Many products on the market promote effectiveness in the treatment of cellulite. According to us, we do not have knowledge of products which have shown effectiveness by penetrating the skin and dissolving the fibrous attachments (which are responsible for the appearance of cellulite). Creams against cellulite are often marketed by well known brands with wording […]

What type of skin do I have?

Thursday, June 3rd, 2010




What dermatologists hear the most are patient’s comments on how dry, oily their skin is… Here is how you can determine what type of skin you have: Normal skin Small pores Smooth on touch without feeling rough (dry skin) or oily Dry/sensitive skin Small pores with an oily secretion on the surface. Tarnishes itself and […]

Sweating

Thursday, June 3rd, 2010




Dr Christophe HSU – dermatologist. Geneva, Switzerland Everybody sweats, women as much as men. Sweating is often perceived as unwanted and this alone explains why deodorants and other anti perspirants are so successful on the market. Some individuals sweat too much and this is called hyperhidrosis: social discomfort is present treatments include application of topicals […]

Stretch Marks (Striae distensae)

Saturday, May 1st, 2010




Stretch marks (striae distensae) appear during pregnancy and are a nuisance for patients and physicians because, they are so easy to diagnose, but so difficult to treat effectively. -creams sold on the market are safe, but yet have to be shown scientifically to be effective. -recent stretch marks are red and the colour could be […]

What is a Dermatologist (Board Certified)?

Saturday, January 2nd, 2010




What is a Dermatologist (Board Certified)? What is a Dermatologist (Board Certified)? A dermatologist is a doctor specialized in the diagnosis and treatment of skin diseases / skin conditions. Dermatologists undergo training (after becoming medical doctors) to treat medical or esthetic (aesthetic) problems concerning the skin. Treatments can be medical (creams, oral tablets, chemical peels, […]

What is Dermatology ?

Friday, January 1st, 2010




What is Dermatology ? Dermatology is a specialty of medicine dealing with the skin. It is a very broad science as the diagnosis and management concerns the biggest organ of the body ! Simply said, dermatology: regarding its diagnosis is: medical (acne, eczema, fungal infections of the skin, psoriasis…internal diseases with skin presentations) aesthetic (esthetic)(wrinkles, […]

image description

Education

Menu Education

Prévention des maladies sexuellement transmissibles (MST) (différent que la contraception)

lundi, juin 7th, 2010




Il est important de connaître les méthodes de contraception. Nous souhaitons toutefois souligner que parmi toutes les méthodes contraceptives disponibles la transmission de maladies sexuellement transmissibles ne peut être fortement diminuée seulement par l’utilisation de préservatifs masculins et féminins. Comment prévenir les maladies sexuellement transmissibles (MST)? La meilleure façon est de maintenir des relations sexuelles […]

Eviter les piqûres (morsures) de tiques (prévention de la Borréliose (maladie de Lyme))

dimanche, juin 6th, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Il est agréable de se promener en forêt une fois la belle saison venue, que cela soit en plaine ou en montagne. Toutefois c’est une bonne idée d’éviter les piqûres d’insecte, en particulier les tiques. Dans les forêts du monde entier, mais surtout en Europe et en Amérique […]

Examiner soi-même ses grains de beauté (auto-examens des naevi (névi) mélanocytaires)

samedi, juin 5th, 2010




Nous vous conseillons de faire examiner vos grains de beauté par un dermatologue et surtout si: vous en avez plus de 100 un individu dans votre famille a eu le mélanome. vous avez plus de 40 ans vous avez une peau claire (phototypes I et II), des yeux clairs vous attrapez souvent des coups de […]

Se protéger du soleil

jeudi, juin 3rd, 2010




Le soleil est notre allié car il constitue une source indirecte de vitamine D et contribue indiscutablement à notre bien être psychologique. Toutefois, il est aussi dangereux et contribue au développement de cancers de la peau, dont le mélanome. Plus accessoirement (si on peut le dire), il est responsable du viellissement accéléré de la peau […]

Traitement de la cellulite

jeudi, juin 3rd, 2010




Beaucoup de produits existent sur le marché qui vantent un effet efficace sur la cellulite. Pour notre part,  nous ne connaissons pas qui aient fait leurs preuves c’est à dire de traverser la couche superficielle et de dissoudre les attaches fibreuses responsables de la cellulite. Les crèmes disponibles sur le marché vendues par des marques […]

Quel type de peau est-ce que j’ai?

jeudi, juin 3rd, 2010




Ce que les dermatologues entendent le plus des patients c’est à quel point leur peau est sèche, ou grasse… Voici comment vous pouvez déterminer votre type de peau: Peau normale Petits pores Lisse au toucher, sans être sèche ou grasse. Peau sèche et/ou sensible Petits pores avec peu de sécrétion huileuse. Ternit et se déshydrate […]

La transpiration

jeudi, juin 3rd, 2010




Dr Christophe Hsu – dermatologue. Genève, Suisse Tout le monde transpire, autant les hommes que les femmes. La transpiration est perçue comme étant indésirable, ceci explique la grande popularité des déodorants trouvés sur le marché. Certains transpirent trop et on appelle cela hyperhidrose: une gène sociale est évidente les traitements incluent application de chlorure d’aluminium, […]

Vergetures

samedi, mai 1st, 2010




Les vergetures apparaissent pendant la grossesse et sont une source de frustation pour le patient et le médecin car elles sont difficiles à traiter. -les crèmes vendues sur le marché contre les vergetures sont sans danger, bien qu’ells n’aient pas un effet scientifiquement prouvé de leur efficacité. -la rougeur des vergetures récentes pourrait être atténuée […]

Qu’est-ce qu’un dermatologue (Spécialiste en Dermatologie) ?

samedi, janvier 2nd, 2010




Qu’est-ce qu’un dermatologue (Spécialiste en Dermatologie) ? Le dermatologue est un médecin spécialisé dans le diagnostic et le traitement des problèmes / maladies de la peau. Les Médecins spécialistes en dermatologie font une formation spécifique (après l’obtention du diplôme de médecin) pour devenir compétants dans le traitement des problèmes d’ordre médicaux et esthétiques. Les traitements […]

La Dermatologie c’est quoi ?

vendredi, janvier 1st, 2010




La dermatologie est une spécialité médicale focalisée sur la peau. C’est une science très vaste: après tout elle étudie le diagnostic et la prise en charge du plus grand organe du corps ! Simplement dit, la dermatologie est: en ce qui concerne le diagnostic: médicale (acné, eczéma, infections de la peau par les champignons, psoriasis…maladies […]

image description